Can't post in Marketplace

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by rhodest, Sep 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rhodest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    #1
    This is what it says:

    vBulletin Message
    rhodest, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

    The Most Common Reason: You have not activated your account by clicking on the link in the email that was sent to you when you reigstered. This must be done to activate your account. If you would like the activation email resent, click here. If you would like to change your email address that you registered with, click here.
    Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
    If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.
    Log Out Home
     
  2. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #2
    You have to have 100 posts to post a new thread in the marketplace.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    <Wacky idea> Read the Marketplace rules which are stuck at the very top of the forum.

    In short, you need 100 posts before you can create new threads in that forum.

    edit: dammit, beaten.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
  5. rhodest thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    #6
    shoot, thats pretty much the only place i post. :(
     
  6. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #7
    Is it possible that the vBulletin message to which rhodest referred could be updated to let new posters know that they can't create posts in the Marketplace? Seems like we could avoid seeing this same question posted over and over if the error message was more informative.
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Nope, at least not with anything built in to vB. You can set access to forums by member group, but cannot specify why exactly you might be denied access to a certain function (in this case creating a new thread).
     
  8. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    I think the 100 post rule stinks. Ok I'll shut-up now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page