Can't rip Blu-ray using Handbrake

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DeafRaiders, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. DeafRaiders, Jan 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #1
    I want to rip my Die Hard blu-ray Disc for my long train journeys to work. I tried ripped with Handbrake i get this error:

    First it was this:
    Second this:
    followed by a bit of this:
    I then googled it up then tried MakeMKV still not ripping. I guess there is no way of bypassing the copyright security??
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #2
    do you have a BluRay reader hooked up via USB (or anything else)
     
  3. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    You need the VLC runtime, also get the Nightly Build of Handbrake.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #4
    I do I have Panasonic UJ260 blu-ray reader/Burner
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    (most) Blu-ray's have AACS, BD+ and HDPC copy protection. HandBreak can't read/strip this so you need a specialized program like MakeMKV to remove it before you can use HandBreak.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #6
    I've tried that it came up with cant do it but it still produced the file on in the home folder /movies
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #7
    MakeMKV should not have a problem decrypting that title. I would like to suggest a good disc cleaning and a re-try.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #8
    I use MakeMKV for my blu rays, but when I run into a stubborn disc, I turn to AnyDVD in Bootcamp.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #9
    Okay got the mkv file from MakMKV now how do i put subtitles with on handbrake I did force 3 subtitles from the DVD. What is the iphone 5 screen aspect ratio?
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    No, idea what you're talking about (iPhone...)? You need the aspect ratio? Why?

    You can only burn-in subtitles from the dvd. No "soft" subs. If you want soft subtitles (able to select and turn on/off), you have to add subtitle srt files using HB. Subtitle srt files can be downloaded from various internet sites. Since it would seem you are still trying to learn the process, unless it is absolutely necessary, I would wait on subtitles. They tend to be a PITA.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #11
    The subtitles are necessary as I am Deaf (hetch my username) I know subtitles can be PITA with Handbrake. I used to do it in windows failed miserable. I prefer to use Freemake which for windows so I've installed paralells for that
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #12
    Do you need multiple subtitles or just one in you're language that can be burned in? Do you need CC or just subtitles?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #13
    Just one language subtitles and close captions are the same.
    I know I can get them from opensubtitles website but I tho makemkv can get them output subtitles as srt
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #14
    Good, no srt needed. If you only need one, then you can burn it in using HB. Very easy. Just load your file into HB, pick your preset (aTV, iPhone, iPad, etc), go to the subtitles tab and select the subtitle track that you want to burn in and make sure only "burned in" is checked.

    If you don't know which of the 3 subtitle tracks that are in the mkv you want. Use something like VLC media player (free) to view the movie. Under the video pull down menu, you will see the 3 subtitle options. Select each one until you find the one you want, then make note of which it is 1, 2 or 3. Use that for the subtitle track selection in HB.

    Makemkv will not provide you with srt files, they will be VOBSUB. You can convert them to srt with a great deal of effort...you don't want to go there. But...if you really want to and you work on a mac, I can help you accomplish it.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #15
    I go to the subtitles tab and no tracks of subtitles are coming up. I can't remember what it states I'll try again tomorow
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #16
    In the window where it says "none", click the little up/down triangles to the right and it should list whatever subtitles are in the mkv. If it doesn't then there is a problem with the mkv. Also, I am assuming you are doing regular dvd not a blu-ray.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #17
    That's correct there's none shown maybe it should just select one subtitles than 3 English one? It is a blu-ray disc I know the difference.

    Time for round 3!!
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #18
    The stable version of HB does not support BR PGS subtitles, however, the Nightly versions do. The Nightly version is sort of a beta but usually works as good as the stable version. If you are doing an mkv ripped from a BR, I would suggest downloading it from here: https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #19
    Thanks that worked nicely!!!
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #20
    You're welcome!:)
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    #21
    ripping blurays and subtitles with hanbrake

    I am haveing a similar problem. I want to rip blurays using handbrake and i finally figured out how to do it correctly but I cannot rip subtitles. I don't even see any subtitle options in the subtitles menu on HB. I dont want to rip as an mkv because my computer does not play those. i use Anydvd HD to decode the blurays.
     

Share This Page