Can't Rip DVDs

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by KJmoon117, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #1
    I'm trying to make a back up copy of my DVDs onto my computer since I'm moving away to college but none of the programs I'm using seems to work.

    So far I've used HandBrake, which doesn't seem to scan the titles, and Mac DVDRipper Pro, which gives me this warning to quit DVDPlayer and reinsert the dvd.

    The problem is that I've already quit DVD Player and I have an optibay setup on my MBP so the DVD Player shouldn't even be working in the first place.

    Any advice anyone?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #2
    Make sure that you also have VLC player installed. It may be that you are missing the codecs needed to rip the DVDs since they may have copyright protection on them. VLC installed the codecs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    I do have VLC installed and not even VLC can play back the DVD.

    The DVD is flawless, it's not scratched at all and other players (my Xbox 360) can play it back. Just nothing on the computer seems to be able to read it.

    I am using an external SuperDrive... if that makes a difference.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #4
    It could be your drive. I have not had any problems ripping DVDs under Lion with my built in drive on my MBP.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #5
    Any advice on how to fix that?

    The external SuperDrive does work with other CDs when it comes to installing things and whatnot. Just not with DVDs...
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    i4k20c

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    #6
    So it mounts? You can see the DVD in finder?

    Do you have any data dvd's where you can try and see if it will read from that?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  8. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    ...except that lately it leaves everything copy protected. I have given up on RipIt and gone back to MacTheRipper.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #9
    RipIt has the same problem. For every disc I put in, even the ones I ripped on Boot Camp, it states that the disc has a 100% bad sector.

    My situation seems to be same as this guy's
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1134344
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    I've never had a problem with Ripit sucks to hear that you are. Hope you find a fix.
     

Share This Page