Can't send e-mail

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by prostuff1, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #1
    For some reason i can not send e-mails any longer. I have three accounts right now and none of them will allow me to send e-mail. I deleted all three accounts and added them back in but i stil cannot send mail.

    Anyone have any suggestions??

    Thanks
     
  2. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #2
    Need a bit more info.....

    1) Assume you can receive mail OK?
    2) What types of mail accounts are they - .mac, pop?
    3) What happens when you try to send an email?
    4) Assume you're using the Mail app?
     
  3. prostuff1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #3


    Sorry here you are,

    1. Yes
    2. they are all pop. One from earthlink, one verizon, one OSU student e-mail
    3. I see a screen that says the specified server can not be used and so on. Pic attached
    4. Yes i am

    Hope that helps a little better
     

    Attached Files:

  4. VanMac macrumors 6502a

    VanMac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Rampaging Tokyo
    #4
    Hey.

    Well, even though you have multiple accounts for email, you only use one for your outgoing mail.

    Seems like it is set to use your verizon account for outgoing mail. Check to make sure that you can access this server, and that your account properties for it are set up correctly.

    Hope this helps......
     
  5. jsado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    I had to change my outgoing email port. I forget what I changed it to, but the fix is located right in Mail help. It worked for me.
     
  6. prostuff1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #6
    The wired thing is that it just started doing this!!

    I turned off my firewall and it still does it. I created another account and it still does it.

    I am stumped. Guess i will mess with it tomorrow.
     
  7. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #7
    Looks like it's failing to send using the smtp server for Earthlink. I just pinged it and it's responding, but it could be down. Usually you'll use the smtp server belonging to your ISP - other ISP servers usually block non account holders. You haven't recently switched from Earthlink to Verizon by any chance?
     
  8. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

    untamedhysteria

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #8
    i also had a prob with this...this is what is happening: when you are sending mail from one account, it's using the "defaults" smtp server...for ex. you try to send using verizon, but it tries to automatically use earthlink as the smtp server...simply change the smtp server you are trying to use and make sure it's the same account with the pop account you are using. (say pop.verizon.com and match up with smtp.verizon.com).

    hope this helps...


    *edited for a tad-better clarity :D
     
  9. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

    untamedhysteria

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #9
    to add a little more...i'm not sure where it get's the "default" smtp server...but it seemed to at least...and it's still doing the same thing it's doing to you on mine (i have 4 accounts, but that shouldn't matter)....maybe just try to use the first account you added to Mail to send mail for all accounts..that's what i ended up doing...simply b/c it took about 3 minutes for the message to ask me to change the smtp server..
     
  10. prostuff1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #10
    Well, it is working for now!!

    I ended up having to add in a user ID and password for the verizon account, which is weird becasue i never had to do that for the earthlink one.

    And the reason i have a verizon and earthlink account is that i just recently moved into grams house while i go to college and i ended up getting Verizon DSL. But back home with the parents i still have my earthlink email account, so that is why i have both of those accounts.

    Thanks for the help and points in the right direction!!
     

Share This Page