Can't set up a basic local network

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macdummy, Oct 16, 2003.

  1. macdummy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #1
    I have an 800MHZ G4 Power book and a G4 350MHZ Power Mac both running OS 10.2.6. I've connected them using an Ethernet crossover cable.
    In my network windows on both computers I have chosen "built in Ethernet" Using DHCP and AppleTalk in on.
    In my sharing windows. File sharing is on.
    When I try to connect to server I get "Login Failed. Unknown user, incorrect password, or log on is disabled."
    Sometimes I am able to connect but only as a guest. I can never log on as as administrator. And only my laptop will connect using my desktop as a server.
    Things I’ve tried:
    Bought a new cable.
    Created new users to try to connect.
    Repaired permissions in disc utility.
    Reset my password using my install disc. (I only use two passwords and have tried them both.)
    Tried every network configuration. DHCP, PPP, even manually entered TCIP address.

    This should be easy.
    Sorry this post is so long.
     
  2. agdickinson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Marston Green, West Midlands, UK
    #2
    Networking

    Hi

    I would recommend that you set up your own TCP/IP addresses if both computer's don't connect to the Internet.

    ie.

    a. 10.0.1.1
    and
    b. 10.0.1.2

    Netmask to 255.255.255.0

    Router should not be needed as you would be connecting via using the Internet TCP/IP addresses. Though on machine one you could enter

    For (a) enter router of 10.0.1.2
    For (b) enter router of 10.0.1.1

    That way they try to connect to each other.

    Under the sharing option I'm guessing you have selected :

    Personal File Sharing
    Windows File Sharing (useful option if first one is a bit odd)
    FTP Access (If other methods fail).

    What is your 'Computer Name:' and 'Rendezvous Name:' are they both set?

    For Apple sharing hopefull (though I'm guessing you already know this)

    Use <Apple-Key> + <k>
    afp://10.0.1.2/

    For Windows Access use:

    Use <Apple-Key> + <k>
    smb://Username@10.0.1.2/andrew

    If you need more help let me know and/or if this is of any help.

    Good Luck

    Andrew
     
  3. macdummy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #3
    Network almost working

    Thanks ag,
    Your reply was very helpful. I followed your instructions. I'm getting similar but inconsistent results.
    When I "connect to server" I get a " contacting server window with a loading bar "timeout in 112 seconds" then after a countdown I get a "connecting to server afp//10.0.0.1... Error =-36.
    Once, I did connect but there were no volumes to mount in the window.
    I am having better results in connecting with rendezvous in ichat though.
    Before, there was no recognition of either computer in my rendezvous windows. Now My desktop sees my laptop. but my laptop does not see my desktop. Once they did see eachother and I was able to chat and share files between them. Very inconsistant.
    Nonetheless, I appreciate your input and your knowledge. I'll keep trying.
    macdummy
     
  4. physicsnerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN
    #4
    Go into a terminal window and type in:

    ping 10.0.1.1
    or
    ping 10.0.1.2

    you should have something like this:
    ---------------------------
    % ping 192.168.1.100
    PING 192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=2.987 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=7.315 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=3.43 ms
    ^C
    --- 192.168.1.100 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 2.987/4.577/7.315 ms
    ---------------
    Yours will say 10.0.1.1 instead of 192.168.1.100. 192.168.1.x can also be used instead of 10.0.1.x, however it shouldn't make any difference. If you get this output on both machines, the computers can at least see each other. Run it and tell us what happens.

    Physicsnerd
     
  5. macdummy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #5
    That scared me, but thanks.

    Thanks for the reply physicsnerd.
    Please take note of my login name. It's mac dummy so type slowly so I can understand you.
    I did what you said. I typed in a terminal window: Ping 10.0.0.1 and after i hit return i got:
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.3 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.277 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.262 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.268 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.275 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.274 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.1.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.29 ms
    It just kept going and wouldn't stop until I closed the window. Does that have any meaning to you? Let me know. Thanks.
    It was kind of fun typing code stuff in the terminal. For a second I felt like a real computer person.
     
  6. dhutch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #6
    just to confirm--you are no longer using DHCP at all, right? Also, are you just trying to connect these two computers, with no internet access, etc.?
     
  7. macdummy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #7
    Thanks dhutch

    I am not using DHCP. I have typed a TCP/IP address manually. The way Agdickinson told me.
    I am only trying to share files between the two computers. (drag & drop) Maybe share a printer as well. But I'm not trying to connect to the internet.
    Also... my laptop is not seeing my desktop in the rendezvous window in ichat. My desktop does see my laptop.
    At this point I think it might be a hardware issue.
    What do you think?
     
  8. dhutch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #8
    I'd doublecheck all the sharing settings. If you're able to ping each computer from the other one, it's probably not a hardware issue.
     
  9. macdummy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #9
    OK dhutch

    Thanks dhutch but what is pinging and how do I do it? Remember...My user name is Macdummy.
    My Sharing settings on both computers are as follows: Personal File sharing is on and firewall is off.
    Both computers have a computer name and a rendezvous name. I am not trying to share an internet connection.
    When I open ichat. My desktop sees my laptop in the rendezvous window but my laptop does not see my desktop.
    Just to make things more confusing...One time they did see eachother and I was able to share some files! I never changed any settings. I just logged in and out of rendezvous a couple of times and viola! I couldn't get it to work again though.
    That's why I think it might be a hardware issue.
    Let me know about this "pinging"" stuff.
    Thanks for the reply.
    Md
     
  10. dhutch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #10
    Pinging is what physicsnerd had you do earlier using the terminal window. The one hardware item you might want to check is the crossover cable: is it connected securely to the computers at both ends.

    Tha fact that you had it working once is a good sign--have you tried turning both computers off (so they are both off) and restarting them? Also, for sharing to work you have to have designated which folders or directories to share.

    Good luck.
     
  11. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #11
    I have sometimes found that using a crossover cable causes negotiation issues. If you or a friend have a hub, switch, or a broadband router with a switch built-in, you could try connecting the computers into it instead. At least you could see if the lights are blinking when you try to connect.

    More advanced things could be done, such as examining the network traffic with tcpdump to see what is going on, but using a hub or switch would be a much simpler solution to try.
     
  12. macdummy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #12
    Thanks for the replies.

    Thaks dhutch and tomf87 I am going to use all of your sugestions. I am going to pick up a cheap router and see if that helps. Can yoou recommend any? Also..
    How do you designate witch folders or directories to share?
    Thanks again.
    Md
     
  13. physicsnerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN
    #13
    Sorry, i forgot to tell you to hit ctrl + c to stop the pinging. Let me explain ping a bit because it's a very useful program for testing and debuging networks.

    Let say on computer A you have givein it an IP of 192.168.1.1 and on computer B you set the IP to 192.168.1.2.

    When you type in

    %ping 192.168.1.2

    on computer A the ping program sends out a "message" to the compter sitting at 192.168.1.2, which in this case is computer B. Computer B will then turn around and send a message back to computer A saying that is recieved its message. This will continue until you tell it to stop. ctrl +c is a program break and should stop most any program running on a terminal. You can also use ping -c <number of pings to send> 192.168.x.x

    aka:

    %ping -c 3 192.168.1.1

    This will ping 192.168.1.1 three times. However, i'm usually lazy and don't bother with -c and hit crtl +c when i'm done. Sorry about not telling you that. It's one of those things that's such a habit anymore I forget that i even do it.

    What this means is that if you can ping a computer then the network is wired correctly and the IPs are properly set on each system. So you can rule those out as being the problem when ping works.

    you can find more about ping by typing in

    %man ping

    man means manual pages, and will bring up the electronic manual for a program.

    Hope this sheds some light on what i was having you do.

    physicsnerd
     
  14. physicsnerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN
    #14
    To set up sharing go to:

    The apple on the top left corner: system preferences: Internet & Networking: Sharing

    Under services click on Personal file sharing, then click on start.

    This will share the folder Public in your home directory. See if this helps.

    Also, it just dawned on me that if your firewall is on you have to add in a port for Rendezvous and iTunes Streaming

    Rendezvous uses port 5298 and iTunes Streaming uses port 3689. In sharing go to firewall: New: Other and enter in the port number and a description. Or you could just turn off the firewall if you're not conected to the net. See if turning off the firewall fixes your problems.

    physicsnerd
     
  15. tomf87 macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #15
    If you are not going to share Internet services, you can just buy a small hub or switch. Name brands usually don't mean much, but I've had NetGear hubs for long periods of time with no problem. D-Link and Linksys are also popular brands.

    If you are going to share Internet access, get a router with a built-in switch. I use a Linksys at home (Model # BEFWS11) that includes wireless, however there are many models without wireless as well.
     

Share This Page