Can't setup a free appstore account

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mamcx, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    I'm triying to setup a free appstore account, from Colombia, and get this:

    [​IMG]

    I don't have a credit card. I setup a paypal account but not work.

    What to do? And why apple insist in set a credit card for free apps?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #2
    I don't have a Credit Card, and I have an account. Just get a $25 dollar iTunes card and set up an account with it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Guelph, ON
    #3
    Because there is stuff you have to pay for too, the CC account address also confirms your location to ensure your in the proper iStore. You can use a gift card I believe to set it up.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #4
    If you have a atm card (with a visa logo on it.) you might be able to use that as well.

    The money will just be taken out of your account immediately, instead of a CC style 30 days revolving mechanism.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #5
    Also your in Colombia and you are trying to set up an account at the Mexican store
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #6
    No,from Colombian store,this is a sample image from a forum.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #7
    open up iTunes and go to top free apps or app store and once you done that download a app and the it's going to ask you to sign in. Once that pops up select create an iTunes account the just fill out everything and then once it asks you to choose a payment option it should say none an then that's it. And if you want to buy games that cost money no problem just buy a iTunes gift card from any store. Then redeem it to your account through iTunes......:::.....:::::... That's it :):apple:
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #8
    As you can see from the picture in my first post, I actually do that. And don`t work.
     
  9. dZp
    macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #9
    Try it again.
    Honestly, this method (payment method: none) wasn't working for the past couple of weeks, but started working again today.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
    Now, the "none" option is not available at all for my country :(.
     
  11. dZp
    macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #11
    *cough*
    Just open a US store account.
    Be creative with the address. :rolleyes:
    *cough*
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #12
    Not working.

    This is frustrating.... why can't people freely download free apps?.
     
  13. macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    People CAN freely download apps. i just tried setting up a new free account:

    EDIT: It works in the Colombia store too.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #14
    I just tried it too. Its working.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #15
    Then I don't know. I try this from 3 diferent computers (1 Mac, 1 WinXP, 1 Vista) and nothing, with iTunes 8.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    MaskedPhantom

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    What the hell? I have the latest version of iTunes (8.0.2) and I don't even HAVE the "none" option! Plus, when I try to make an account with my credit card, it says my security code is invalid, when it is valid!

    Edit: US Store by the way.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #17
    Ok, now I found what was the problem, reading the faqs in apple.com.

    Is *absolutely* necesary try *first* to download a free app from iTunes (in your pc or mac) to get the "none" option.

    Auch!


    Thank you everybody.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #18
    Post #7 told you to do that.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #19
    Yeah, I now see. When try at that time the none option fail (as some others found too) and later, I forget the damm thing :D
     

Share This Page