cant start firewall cause theres another already running?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by lucface, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. lucface macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #1
    i want to turn on my firewall, osx.3.8. i go to my shared folder and select firewall. it tells me other fire wall software is running on my computer and i have to turn it off first. i didnt consciously set up any other fire wall, witch makes me kinda nervous. so but the first thing i want to do it find out whats running.
    i want to know how to tell what programs are running on my comp. is there an easy way to do this?

    ps, i know apple/tab. im looking deeper. also if ive been hacked im also wondering if any one has any advice for software. including virus clean up/protection, anti hack (hack resistent i meen), or anything of that nature.
    thanx
     
  2. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
  3. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
  4. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    Well that is your problem. Turn off virtualPC and it will be back to normal.

    Steven
     
  5. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #5
    so simple. thanx a bunch.
    regarding my first post, is there a way (like in windows) were you can see all the little worker bee programs running, when you press ctr/alt/del?
     
  6. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    /Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app
     
  7. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #7
    Apple-option-ESC gives you the running apps and allows you to force quit them, if that's what you're after. Otherwise, what ^^ he ^^ said.
     
  8. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #8
    great, since i got you- im trying to figure out why my downloads wont work from some places and will from others.
    just recently started happening.
     
  9. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Are you just downloading from websites?
     
  10. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #10
    yes. ftp works fine. and im pretty sure its me not them. one thing that may contribute: i used speeddownload 2 for a week. it was getting anoying (trial vision) so i through it and all its folders away by doing a finder search then trash then empty. i use fire fox is there like a cache or cookies or somthing to clear? (as you can prob tell, im learning...thanx for the help)
     
  11. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #11
    Do you have problems with Safari, as well?
     
  12. lucface thread starter macrumors regular

    lucface

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    #12
    yes...

    I AM MOVING THIS POST BECAUSE THE SUBJECT LINE DOESNT ATRACT ATTENTION TO MY CURENT ISSUE
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    SpeedDownload :rolleyes:

    It's a common source of problems.. make sure you completely uninstall it.
     

Share This Page