Cant use iMessages nor FaceTime on my mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ReyamEN, Nov 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #1
    my problem started when i blocked my self out, someway, i couldnt download or open apps. When i open the application folder i cant find a thing. before that happened iMessages wouldnt let me sign in claiming that my apple ID is "new" and i needed to call AppleCare, that didn't work so i gave up but FaceTime worked so i didnt need it that much.

    i formated my mac and reinstalled ML, and now i try to sign in on both iMessages and FaceTime, both claim that there is no internet connection, yet i can use everything else related to internet on my mac. App Store, Safari, Mail...etc all work.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #2
    What Mac and OS version ? What kind of internet connection / router you are using ? It could be some the ports used by iMessage and FaceTime are blocked while eMail and Web are still ok. If possible please share some more details on your environment.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #3
    Macbook Pro, Mountain lion 10.8.2, i honestly dont know what you mean by what kind of router i am using, all i can say is that once i upgraded my OS it worked completely fine. the first time, before all those problems happened, it worked smoothly.

    when i googled the problem something about the DNS, i think, should up and said to change it and so i did but it didnt work.
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #4
    Are you on a network that doesn't allow full access to the Internet, like some businesses and schools? If so, they could be blocking your access.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    Almost sounds like parental restrictions.
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #6
    There is a technical document http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1629 describing what ports Apple software is using.

    And another one on FaceTime for Mac http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4185

    The question for the router comes from the nice way of Apple configuring the router for you once you setup iMessage/FaceTime. That would not work with 3rd party router.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #8
    No actually not, no parent restrictions no nothing! I've used before.
     

Share This Page