capture device for mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by twoodcc, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    is there any capture devices for a mac? i have an ati all-in-wonder pro 128mb video card for my PC, but i might be selling it. i couldn't put that video card in a mac could i? is not, how else could i capture video?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #2
    I'm sure you're aware you can connect DV sources via firewire... so that's a cheap and easy option. Sorry, i don't know diddly-squat about cards though.

    next!
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    where can i find an adapter? also, what about quality?
     
  4. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    well i see the capture devices on the apple website, so has anyone used/has any of these? if so, how are they? quality?

    also, i have a pinnalce dazzle for my pc, but do you think it'll work on a mac?
     
  5. unixkid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    #5
    ..

    grab a firewire cord, plug it in ur camera and comp, open iMove and start capturing
     
  6. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    the thing is, my camera uses usb. and i couldn't get it to work. i also like watching tv on my computer
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    i noticed that the powermacs use agp slots for video cards? could i put in my ati aiw 9800 pro? what about the software though?
     
  8. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #8
    well i have a dazzle capture device for my PC. it is usb. could i use that on my mac mini?
     
  9. dvdh macrumors 6502

    dvdh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #9
    I school that I teach at has a video editing lab and we have a combination of Dazzles and PyroAV Links for capturing from Analog source. Both work fine with Macs (although we have them hooked up through firewire 400).

    If you are looking to only do a little video capture, the easy way might be to use (borrow) a DV cam as a pass through to get from Analog to DV via Firewire.
     
  10. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #10
    what software do you use with the dazzle? do you think the usb would work?

    i already have a camera, but it's usb, so i can't hook it up to my mac
     
  11. dvdh macrumors 6502

    dvdh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #11
    We were using Premiere with the Dazzle and iMovie with the AV Link. I think you should be able to get the Dazzle to work with iMovie, though.

    BTW, is you camera USB 1 or 2. If it is USB 1, there is no way to capture in real-time directly from the camera, however, USB 2.0 should support it without any third party software.
     
  12. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #12
    it's usb 2.0, and i have the mac mini, which is 2.0 also, right?

    i thought imovie only used firewire? i tried before and couldn't get it to recognize the camera. any advice?
     
  13. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13
    well i was reading on the pinnacle website, and under minimum requirements, it only windows. it doesn't say anything about mac os x at all. so is there any way to get this to work?
     
  14. dvdh macrumors 6502

    dvdh

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #14
    Yep, looks like you're right about the lack of USB 2 support in iMovie. It seems that the same is true with Avid's free editor, and a quick search of Macupdate didn't seem to provide any USB 2 solutions either. . . . Sorry, but it seems like I can't be of much more help . . .
     
  15. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #15
    well, thanks for trying. any advice on a different capture device? i would like to import from my camcorder (sony dvd handycam) so i would need good quality. which dazzle have you used? how do you like it?
     

Share This Page