Carbon Copy Cloner and new PB Hard drive

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wattage, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. wattage macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #1
    I have searched the forums on these topics but can't find my specific questions-answered. I have cloned my PB HD to the Ext. LaCie. I will be replacing my PB with an 80gig 7200 drive this week.
    • I understand that the clone is 'bootable', but do I also have to install Tiger on the LaCie or is it ready to boot right now??
    • To check this do I go to syst. pref>Target disk mode; or restart with the option button pressed?
    • To restart and boot from the LaCie (right now as a test), do I keep it mounted and then restart with 'option'. Or will this harm the Ext.HD?
    • Should I partition the new PBHD once I get it?
    • Should I just not worry about the bootable clone and simply install Tiger on the new drive and drag my apps, photos, tunes, docs, etc. to it?

    I know this is a lot but these are all my questions, the other threads don't spell it out like I need(newbie). Also I read about migration, should I look into that? Any help is appreciated. I know you 'pros' get tired of answering the same ole questions about routine maintenance.

    thanks brian
     
  2. RiseAgainst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #2
    The drive that you cloned to already has a copy of Tiger on it. There is no need to anything with a system disc.

    Yes, just plug it in and restart holding down option, this will boot you into a menu where you can select a system folder to boot from. This does not hard your disk at all. It was made to do this.

    When you get the new drive boot to yout Tiger system disk and format it using Disk Utility. Make sure it is Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Then boot to the LaCie clone and then do the process in reverse. Clone the Lacie to the new drive.

    As for backing up, its all preference. Personally I like to have the bootable clone. Makes things easy if you need to travel. You just connect the drive to a friends Mac and then you have your computer in front of you.
     
  3. wattage thread starter macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    Thank you soo much for that reply, someone else gave me similar advice in another thread but not as clearly as I needed it. I'm just apprehensive about restarting the comp. with my 'all so precious' LaCie and its files vulnerable.

    Thank you!!
     
  4. wattage thread starter macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    Problem

    I restarted with the option button and a screen (kinda whitish) appeard with four icons: 1> a refresh looking icon 2>a Mac HD folder 3>another Mac HD folder 4>a 'next' or 'continue' looking arrow (pointing right).

    I clicked the 3>(identical to 2>) then the 'continue' icon and a screen of computer language sprawled down and the last line said something like:

    panic: Kernal.....we are hanging here.

    I almost #$%^ myself thinking something bad just happened. But I restarted the comp and all is well. But what do I do???
     
  5. wattage thread starter macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    I have tried to clone again, and this time my clone IS recognized in sys pref>startup disk!!! The only difference is that this time I have the clone, and only the clone, on that partition and I did NOT organize it into one folder(manually). There is an option in CCC to clone to a folder (the program also says this is not supported) but I haven't tried that yet.

    I'm just glad it works, apparently.
     

Share This Page