Career Fair Tips?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Kwyjibo, Jan 31, 2005.

1. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

Kwyjibo

So tomorrow is the business career fair for my school, well the next three days actually and I'm pretty pumped and nervous about it. I'm a sophomore studying finance and I'm looking around for a summer internship, i've got a relatively high GPA so I think that I have definite opportunities if I can make a good impression. I've already have Jef review my resume and said it was pretty good. So my question is that with such a large community some of you must know what a recruiter wants to hear / see at this type of event and some good questions to ask, so can anyone offer me any insight into these areas.

kwyjibo

2. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

Hmm...Dress nicely, make sure your resumé is printed on nice paper, make eye contact, give people a good handshake, and ask informed questions. That means you should do a little research on the companies beforehand--This shows that you are prepared and genuinely interested. Also, be ready to talk about the more interesting things on your resumé. My roommate, for example, gained a lot of ground by talking about the chess club he started. Also, see if you can find common ground between you and the recruiter. A lot of times, the recruiters are employees who graduated from your university; if that's the case, then you may already have some common ground to discuss.

Keep in mind, though, that recruiters are most interested in Juniors and Seniors. Same with internship people. But it's good to get your name and face out there, and to make a connection with these folks early.

3. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

How did the career fair go? To what companies did you talk?

4. Kwyjibo thread starter macrumors 68040

Kwyjibo

I'll write up a list later on maybe, my powerbook died or the hard drive as far as I can tell ...

a few were very receptive, my second day was much better than my first.