Carphone Warehouse/ Talk Talk FREE Broadband.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by combatcolin, Jul 23, 2006.

  1. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #1
    Been think about this for a while now, anyone got it or in the process of having it installed?

    Want to find out more before i consider signing up.
     
  2. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #2
    I've got it....

    8mb is actually 1mb-1.5 mb though
     
  3. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #3
    Have a read through the message boards on adslguide.org.uk. There's a specific one for Talktalk which might give you more idea of any issues.

    As with most things, have a read through for a few weeks and see if they're common problems and if anyone is rebutting them - since you do end up with a lot of whiners on boards sometimes.
     
  4. combatcolin thread starter macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #4
    The whole "You get what you pay for" thing has been bugging me with Talk Talk, if its free then something has to be cut.

    Anyway, ADSL works a lot differtly to NTL cables dosn't it? Do You have to enter a password and dial in every time you us it?

    NTL has been on the whole fine, but my BB and Phone bill is now £45 a month and would like to get it down.
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    if you don't download/upload a huge amount go for it, but i really couldn't land myself with the kind of limits they put on it. i've got an orange contract too, and was offered free broadband on that, but with a 2Gb limit i'd just be shooting myself in the foot. i, realistically, use that in two days. or less...

    i've not heard much about the quality of their service, but, as applespider suggested very sensibly, go checkout ADSLGuide.org.uk
     
  6. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #6
    If you get a wireless router you don't - you dial if you have a 'adsl modem'. a router just 'dials' (actually, it logs in), which takes about >2 secs, then you're on. my D-Link router has a keep alive which means it's connected 24/7...


    I use Demon - they do a home, 8mb service, for £19.99 a month, and they don't have a 'fair usage' policy that i know of - i regularly use over 170 Gb a month and never have issues. I've been using them for years and have never had a single issue with them...
     
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    The 'nothing is free' thing is what puts me off too.

    ADSL is different from cable but no, you don't have to dial in. Your router has the username/password stored in it (when you set it up) and then it keeps the connection live all the time so when you turn on your Mac, it's on.

    There are lots of reasons for potentially slow speeds. One is distance from the exchange - the longer the line between you and the exchange, you get more noise and less signal coming through which can cut the speed. Another problem is contention at the exchange; if it's a busy exchange which is waiting for a DSLAM upgrade, then the speeds might go down too.

    I can't remember which ISPs backbone Talktalk runs from. Is it a BT datastream or an LLU provider?
     
  8. tedmonds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #8
    Connection & setup information sought...

    I've got it. I have installed the modem software and intermittantly it crashes my iBook each time i click "connect". No other software has ever done this to my mac. When it crashes, white text appears on a black back ground on top of the applications open at the time. I don't like this!

    If I had a wireless router, could i uninstall the talktalk software and get connect without it? That would solve my problem and let me surf the web from anywhere in the house. :)
     
  9. codo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #9
    Isn't TalkTalk free broadband heavily capped?

    I'm with Pipex - Up to 8 Megs uncapped for £24.99 a month.
     
  10. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #10
    yup. it is. which is why i'm with Demon for the same for £5 less :p
     
  11. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    i use about 4GB bandwidth a day, no way i could deal with any limit unless it was about 5TB which i'd just never hit.
     
  12. Lau Guest

    #12
    Yes, you can, you would use an ethernet cable to connect your computer to the router and use a browser to set up the router, and then you can unplug the cable and surf wirelessly software free! :)
     
  13. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #13
    Can't beat Telewest Cable broadband in my book.
    Never had problems in the last 5 years.
    10 Meg is fast.
    Only two hops to the main trunk, so pings of less than 20, my record was a ping of 2.:D
     
  14. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    I'm with NTL and they are appauling, but not quite bad enough to move away yet.

    I think there's a big pricewar brewing so I'm not going to jump...yet.

    btw. what are you people DLing to go over 2GB in a couple of days!!
     
  15. rdweaver macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    I have it and it works perfectly. The transfer limit is 40gb per month. I have saved over 50% on my old BT bill. The switch was seamless.
     
  16. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #16

    hee...I used to be a serious Carracho user a few years back:eek:

    used to do 2gig in a night easy...not proud of it, I've now repented.

    Not even BitTorrent or Limewire these days...all legit...its better that way (for me that is ('let he who...));)
     

Share This Page