Caving in...

Discussion in 'Games' started by AoWolf, Nov 10, 2005.

1. AoWolf macrumors 6502a

AoWolf

This year for Christmas I will be building a PC for World of Warcraft. My 1ghz iBook is great but it just can't do MC and BWl at the level I would like. I am new to this whole PC thing and will need some advice. My budget is gonna be pretty low probably under $600. So I need know what I will I need and if it will be possible to make a for my budget. Any advice is appreciated.

2. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

Patmian212

My advice is get a mac mini. Get a top of the line mac mini with 1gb of ram and by christmas it will probably have 64mb of vram. It wont handle it as well as a PC but it should be find on medium low settings, much better FPS then your ibook and its a mac, it can replace your ibook overall and it fits you budget.

3. AoWolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

AoWolf

No it can't replace my iBook I take it to school every day and use it. I guess I was not clear enough I am keeping the iBook just building a PC for gaming.

4. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

Patmian212

By replace I ment, replace it for gaming and other tasks, not replace as in sell your ibook.

5. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

I agree, I think the Mac Mini would be an excellent solution if all you're looking at this new machine for is playing WoW. And, as patmian212 said, you could even do other things on it as well besides gaming. ;) It's a great little machine. :)

6. AoWolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

AoWolf

It is a great machine but its graphics card is still very very bad also its not long-term because I cannot keep upgrading it like I can a PC.

7. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

jelloshotsrule

personally i see no reason to get a mac mini if you're getting a machine specifically for gaming. it's kidding yourself to think you'll have the future proof gaming system in it that you'd have in a self built pc

how much you think you'll spend on the pc? (i ask out of complete ignorance)