CD Won't Mount

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Regular-John, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. Regular-John macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #1
    Hey All

    I've just bought an audio cd, brand new. For some reason it won't mount so I can't rip it :(

    Never had any problems before, in fact I just ripped another new cd that I just bought with no problems?

    Any suggestions??

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You didn't buy a CD but a CD shaped piece of plastic with an almost CD compliant structure (aka a Copy-Protected CD)? Every copy-protected CD I have the misfortune of owning mounts on my Mac though...
     
  3. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #3
    I'm going to go with copy-protection as well (or failing that just some bad luck recognition issues). Have you got another comp that you can try it out on? Sometimes a different drive model does the trick just fine.
     
  4. Regular-John thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #4
    Don't think it's copy-protected, it's by a relatively unknown band on a VERY independent label!

    I'll give it a go on my brother's comp.

    cheers
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    The simplest answers is usually the correct one. Did you check that this particular disk plays in a normal cd player? Are there any scratches or visible defects on either side of the disk? Did you try cleaning the bottom surface? Are you having trouble mounting any other disks now?
     
  6. Regular-John thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #6
    Works fine with a regular cd player.

    There are no scratches at all, it was shrink wrapped about 2 hours ago!

    iMac has no problems mounting any other cd's, just tried a few random ones.

    As I mentioned before, I seriously doubt it's copy-protection, also the cd was released in '89, way before copy-protection!!

    It's really buggin' me, I wanna put it on my iPod!

    Cheers guys.
     
  7. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #7
    While it will be a hassle, there is a way to get it on your computer. Put the CD in a CD player, hook the outputs of the CD player to your microphone input (you need a RCA female x2 to 1/8" mini-plug adapter), use any recording software you have (I like Sound Studio, but there are many others), hit record and record the whole album. [if the iMac does not have a microphone input, you need to get a USB or Firewire Audio interface, which start at about $30 US and go up to several hundred--do the translation to British pounds and you'll get the cost] Once you have the whole album recorded, use Sound Studio to break up the album into individual tracks. Next, burn an audio CD of these tracks in iTunes (add the songs to your library, make a playlist of the songs, burn a CD). Why? To have a backup of the original song files in their full size. Next, convert the songs within iTunes to AAC format, then delete the original AIFF files from your computer. Now the AAC formatted songs will go on your iPod.

    BUT, if it is just a problem with that particular CD, it would be much easier to simply get another copy of the CD and import it into iTunes.
     
  8. Regular-John thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #8
    Yeah, but that method will lose a lot of quality as the sound will be going through the soundcard, which on an iMac isn't the best [might be wrong on this!].

    There has got to be a simple way to get the cd to mount!
     
  9. Regular-John thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #9
    For some unknown reason [I haven't changed anything] it works now!

    So cheers for the replies.

    I thought it was only pc's that were tempramental :p
     
  10. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #10
    Eh, just have to fudge with them a little sometimes.
     
  11. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #11
    The iMac G5 and core duo have really unpredictable CD drives.
    I think it's something to do with them being tilted vertically. :cool:
     

Share This Page