Cellular Data Network settings (3G APN Servers)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by leez, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    leez

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    While yellowsn0w is out, people gonna start using different SIM cards etc. I was thinking about writing down all the Network settings for 3G in here, so you can get access to internet with all the networks around the globe.

    After putting in new SIM, go to Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network

    Vodafone UK:
    APN: internet
    Username: wap
    Password: wap


    Post your settings, thanks.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Honduras settings

    Tigo Honduras
    APN: internet.tigo.hn
    username: blank
    password: blank
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #3
    These are the settings I used to get data working on T-Mobile in the California San Francisco Bay Area.

    Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network

    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    Username: (blank)
    Password: (blank)

    I've also read some people are using internet2.voicestream.com and internet3.voicestream.com depending on what data plan they subscribe to.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Italy
    #4
    Two things: I live and travel in Europe and have found a great worldwide resource for APN lists. Do a google search for "Ross Barkman APN" and it'll take you to http://www.taniwha.org.uk/gprs.html

    He has compiled a thorough list of worldwide APN info and keep it updated, takes submissions, etc. VERY useful.

    Second, as a newly unlocked iPhone 3G user (read 20 minutes ago) how do I change the APN settings on the phone so it accesses the right server/IP?

    EDIT: Hmm, maybe if I read the FIRST POST of the thread I would have seen it. I'm an idiot. Disregard.
    EDIT 2: Maybe I'm not, Cellular Data Network menu doesn't exist. Any ideas?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #5
    Theres a package in Cydia, I believe it's called something like "Edit APN Settings" that makes the menu appear. Maybe search in cydia for APN and it will show up?
     
  6. macrumors member

    yorkman

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    hi

    You are right,on cydia cal it APN Editing
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    thanks much, that was the last hurdle for total awesomeness.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #8
    Carrier: Proximus (Contract or Pay&Go)
    Country: Belgium
    APN: internet.proximus.be
    User: (blank)
    Pass: (blank)

    I got a custom carrier bundle with all the settings + some extra stuff like check balance & voice mail not sure if there is interest in this but if there is I'll put it on rapidshare or something.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #9
    If you unlocked with yellowsn0w the menu will appear unless you've inserted an sim of a supported carrier.

    If I stick in my Mobistar (official carrier for .be) SIM all the settings are correctly filled in. (Using swiss unlocked phone).
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    #10
    Have changed APN settings...how long before it works?

    Hi, Thanks for the info below...done that but still not working at the moment, how long before it does?
    I spoke to Vodafone UK and they gave me the same info for the Username & Password but a different ANP Address; wap.vodafone.co.uk, that didn't work too....My iPhone is a 3G 16GB from the USA and has been unlocked with the 2.28 yellowsn0w software detailed below. The phone is working fine and I have the 3G Vodafone Internet package, linked to my contract.
    Hope you can help....thanks, Nik.

     

Share This Page