Chance of Apple incorporating a biometric device into MBA?!?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by McGilli, Dec 27, 2008.

1. McGilli
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

I really wish, i mean REALLY wish Apple would get on the biometric fingerprint readers for their notebooks. As I have a MBA I wish they would put in in the MBA.

If you have never used a machine with one - you are missing out. Basically it replaces the need to ever type in a password again, for any site or application you use - even logging into the OS.

Apple is usually so 'ahead' of the others - I wish they would include this - even if it was an 'extra' model feature that cost more I would grab it.

Anyone else?

2. Ironic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

Ironic

3. TwinCities Dan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

TwinCities Dan

Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
  4. TheMasin9
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

TheMasin9

Yeah, right....

This tech is very much a waste of space in apple computers. We won't ever see it as anything more than a third party peripheral...

5. jonbravo77
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

Sorry, don't find that much use for it. They should incorporate retinal scanning using the iSight, now that is technology... :D

6. SFStateStudent
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

Please don't incorporate anything related to fingerprint readers; they are unreliable and cause nothin' but headaches for users. The War Department has a Dell computer (office issued computer) with that bonehead app and she's constantly taking it in to reset the computer at her office's IT department, and she's constantly using my MBA...:(

7. Les Kern
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

Les Kern

I have them on all my PC's and they work flawlessly... but I think the answer to this question as far as Apple is concerned is: No.