Change IP Address?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by sammyman, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #1
    Is it possible to change the ip address on my computer? I am using comcast internet with my iMac and a Netgear Router (WGT624). Thanks!
     
  2. JNB
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Sure, but you really don't need to with the router - it's probably already assigning the address to the iMac via DHCP (192.168.x.x), and receiving one from Comcast through the cable/DSL modem the same way. This is the typical default setup.

    If you want to statically set the IP addy, it's found in System Preferences>Network. Select Built In Ethernet and click Configure. There's a drop-down next to Configure IPv4. It's likely set to Using DHCP now. Your other options are: Manually, Using DHCP with Manual Address, and Using BOOTP.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #3
    Nope, Comcast will give you an IP. It may change from time to time, but you have no control over it. You can of course change the IP within your own network through the router, but as far as the rest of the world is concerned, you are your Comcast IP.

    You should be able to access your router by going to: 192.168.1.1
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #4
    I have been able to change the IP on the router from 192.168.0.6 to 192.168.0.221, but on websites that show IP, the number still has not changed (still 731.XX.XXX.XXX)! I have another computer hooked up to this router, and it has a different IP address. But I would like to change my home computer's IP address. Any help please?
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #5
    The website only sees the external IP address that your router was given by your ISP. That IP address is at the mercy of your internet provider. You can usually call them and talk to them to get a static IP address for some extra cost.

    The 192 addresses are your local network addresses. To the outside word your router looks like a single computer connected to the internet at the 731.xxx.xxx.xxx address. All traffic is sent to this address from outside and your router strips off information to determine which of the computers connected to it's network to forward the packets to.

    Is there a reason you are concerned with the IP address the outside world sees?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #6
    Yes. I am looking at porn. Just kidding. There is a website that apparently has blocked me from buying art from them. I think I hit refresh 5,000 too many times on the website. The other computer on my router can access the site fine, but the one I used to hit refresh on so many times cannot access the site. Would like to get back to hitting refresh.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #7
    That's a bit odd, most sites should have no knowledge of the individual computers behind the routers, so if it was a ban based on your IP then every computer behind the router would be seeing the same ban. Try deleting your cookies to see if that's how your computer is being tagged.

    Under Safari->Preferenced->Security there's a button to show cookies that allows you to delete them.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    s/most sites should/ALL SITES WOULD

    There isn't any way for any external website to identify your individual internal computers without sending said computer a cookie and using that to block you at the client side. Clearing cookies is good advice.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #9
    I guess I simplified a bit. I realize that all of the information is going to be contained in the IP packet so it can track back to the originating computer. However there's very little useful information contained in the local IP address of a particular computer especially given the fact that most local networks use DHCP so any information that can be gleaned from the local IP address will be a worthless endeavor since the 192.xxx.xxx.xxx address could change at any given minute.

    I guess the correct statement would be that all sites have knowledge of it but most will just wrap it back around with out paying much attention to it since it's such a transient piece of information that it is nearly worthless.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #10
    Is this other computer a PC or Mac? Could be the site doesn't support Macs, and if thats the case - shame on that lazy web developer.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #11
    It is a mac, but it used to work, until a couple of weeks ago. Maybe something changed in their website?.... Hmmm. Let me try to clear the cookies and report back.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #12
    how do you release the IP address... I know if you release it and wait a day or 2 that works... is there a way to do this with a mac?
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #13
    anyone?
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #14
    It all depends on which IP address you're trying to release.

    Depending on your router/Mac, you can go into System preferences-> Netowork and then choose your active configuration (Ethernet, Airport, etc.)

    From there if you have admin access you can click on the Renew DHCP lease button under the TCP/IP tab, this is also where you would assign a static IP to your computer. However this process only releases/renews the 192.xxx.xxx.xxx address and if your router has a small number of computers attached you may consistently end up with the same 192.xxx.xxx.xxx address since the routers typically just assign them in numerical order and without a lot of computers to snap them up as they are released you will keep getting the same IP. You might check the computers that are on the network and see which has the lower IP address. To verify that the IP on the local computer has little to do with the issue you are seeing you can reboot them so that the one with the currently lower IP address boots last and they should swap IP addresses. The ban should still follow the original computer. Or you could just give the computer that sees the ban a new static IP address, just pick anything in the 192.168.xxx.yyy range (other than yyy=255) such that xxx stays whatever it currently is, I'm guessing 0 in your case.

    To release your 731.xxx.xxx.xxx address you need to log into your router and find the button to release the IP address there.

    Did you try clearing the cookies as we suggested?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #15
    I am presently having problems when using Facebook. It happens rather frequently that I am unable to load FB and I always get the following message:

    "Your access to Facebook is being blocked or redirected by a third party. Please check with your ISP provider."

    What I did to gain access to FB is to add "s" to the http address, i.e. https:// .... It worked sometimes but I don't think that this will solve the problem in the long run.

    Both my son and I log-in to Facebook daily on my iMac. Is it because of this that I am facing this problem? I have already checked with our internet provider and they confirmed that there is no problem with the internet. I have tried to delete the cookies but the same problem persists. The irony of things is that we could gain access to FB without any problems by using our other two computers at home sharing the same internet line.

    Anybody out there who can help me? We would be very grateful for any solution.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #16
    Changing IP address

    Can anyone direct me to a Mac program or software that will help me change my IP address? Thank you for your assistance!
     
  17. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #17
    Have you even read the thread above? There are quite detailed explanations about the IP address. To summarize; the IP addresses on your side of a router usually start with 192.168.xx.xx since this is the local loop address convention. IP addresses on the internet side of the router are assigned by the ISP.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    #18
    couldnt you just call your isp and ask if they could change it? Idk
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #19
    Most likely it has changed now since it was asked in 2007. XD

    Even more so since Comcast is now slowly moving people to IPv6
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #20
    Change IP Address

    Yes sammyman, it is possible. I had faced like as your problem few months ago. After getting answers from my friend, this problem is fixed. You can try to go Change Ip Address link.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #21
    I have Firefox set to clear cookies at the end of the session. If I access my Chase credit card account from a different computer on my home network than last time, I need to go through an additional security question routine.
    I was wondering what tracking Chase uses to recognize which computer I am using.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #22
    Rerouting your ip on a mac

    if you want to learn how to reroute your IP address this video might help you out.

    Reroute Ip addres for Mac OS

    hope it helps. :apple:
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #23
    Might have to yell louder, I think the OP died of old age in 2011. Seriously, the thread is SIX years old.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    #24
    Please help

    Dear sir,

    I need to know some information. I hope you can make me understand my doubt.

    Is it possible for somebody to divert their IP address to some other country?

    For example: If we tracked the static IP address of someone many times as 27.255.3.xxx (using did they read it and other tools) and it belongs to ISP Fiberlink Karachi Pakistan, but the person says he is in USA. Also whenever person is online we can ping and see reply from this IP address.

    So is it possible that they can divert it to some IP address which actually belongs to some ISP in PAK?

    Please help me understand this.

    Thanks & regards,
    prats
     

Share This Page