Change User Folder Mount Point

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by starscript, May 8, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm building a NAS server to store all my files such as movies etc.

    I'm wondering is it possible to change the mount point of for say the user movie folder from /user/movies to 376.823.0.7/user/movies

    I know I can do it in Linux by using fstab but not sure how I would go about in OS X.

    Does any one have any idea or know how to do this?

    I think this would be also hand for any one who wishes to store their users files or applications on another drive.


    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #2
    Create a symlink to the path on the external, that should work.

    Bold :confused::confused:

    Maximum allowed/working IP range is 255.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Cali, Colombia
    #3
    You seem to know your way around, but just in case I'll make it step by step (and try at your own risk blah blah ;)), but for regular folders on an external drive. I have zero experience with a NAS server, so this might work or be totally worthless (i.e you already tried and didn't work, because of the differences in accessing the drive).

    Get the UUID:
    Code:
    diskutil info /Volumes/[B]LABEL[/B]/ | grep UUID
    
    Add the appropriate line to /etc/fstab (using either pico, nano, or vifs; the latter being the "recommended" one by the OS)
    Code:
    UUID=[B]UUID[/B] /Users/[B]USER[/B]/Movies hfs rw,auto
    
    Like I said, I know nothing of NAS servers, so I don't know the filesystem it gets mounted with (in last example I used HFS because that's what my external drives are formatted into).
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    Good spot, I just picked numbers randomly


    Ahhh that looks right to me. The server will be running AFP so to the mac it should look like a mac computer. I have used a test VM to see if the mac and server can talk and that seams fine.

    I will change the fstab file on some random file, then crate a test user before changing my user files pointer.

    I will post an up date if it works or not.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #5
    UMMMM when I go to fstab I get this message ... I'm I navigating to the right place?
    (Had to open in text editor nothing gets displayed in nano)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    for got to attach the image
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #7
    Same here, default is empty, you just have to add text to it.

    In terminal type "man fstab" without quotes to find out more.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
    If you are planing this then consider some web sites to help you along with a NAS. First is the blog post Configuring OS X Mountain Lion Time Machine to Work With CIFS (SMB) Share and to move your iTunes library using iTunes as explained in article How to move an iTunes library to an external drive. Also you should already know how to move your iPhoto Library (Move the iPhoto Library to an External Hard Drive.

    Lastly you MOST Definitely should have a fast network using 1Gigabit switch like the D-Link 8-Port Gigabit 16 Gbps Desktop Switch using CAT 6 cable getting them cheaply from Monoprice.com.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Cali, Colombia
    #9
    Yes it doesn't matter. As a previous poster said its empty by default, and that message apparently is there since 10.6 or 10.5 so you can "rely" on it for the time being, for Apple hasn't make a move yet regarding how to handle such an scenario without fstab.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    Let's assume your NAS is mounted on the Mac on /Volumes/NAS. If your username is starscript, and you want to move /Users/starscript/Movies to the NAS, then do so and use a sym link as was already suggested.

    Code:
    mkdir /Volumes/NAS/starscript
    mv ~/Movies /Volumes/NAS/starscript
    ln -sf /Volumes/NAS/starscript/Movies ~/
    If you want the system to set your entire home directory to the NAS, you can do one of two things:

    1. You'll need to sudo to root for this.
    Code:
    cd /
    mv /Users /Volumes/NAS
    ln -sf /Volumes/NAS/Users /
    
    This will put all user directories, by default, on the NAS.

    2. Use the System Prefs to move your specific home directory reference. In "Users & Groups", right-click on your name and go into "Advanced Options". From there, change your home directory to the NAS.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #11
    ahhh thats something I have missed.

    I found the other day an advance user option that allow you to change the location of the home folder. You can get to it by right clicking on a user account in account administration.

    I'm waiting on a Intel nick being delivered hopefully get it some point to day.
    After I have set every thing up and don some testing I will post a tutorial including system settings etc in case any one wants to do the same.
     

Share This Page