Changing computer name

Discussion in 'macOS' started by baummer, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    I'm trying to change the main system name. If you go to Network > Servers > you should see your computer's name there. How can I change this? I did a terminal window and discovered that it is located in the autmount/Servers folder. I'm wondering if I can do a simple unix rename command, but I'm wary to try because I'm not sure if this will mess things up. Can anyone shed some light on this for me? Thanks!
     
  2. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #2
    Go to System Preferences. Sharing. Change the "Computer Name" field. That should do it.
     
  3. baummer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    No, that doesn't work. I've changed that multiple times, but it never changes the main computer name, just the share name. Right now it's called minione, and that was the first name I gave it when I purchased the computer. I've since changed from Sys Preferences, but minione still stays the same. Even when I login via SSH remotely, it still lists minione as the name.
     
  4. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #4
    It sounds like that is your user 'short' name. You can change it, but it's really tricky and a hassle.
     
  5. baummer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    No, my short name is way. When I login via SSH this is what it says:

    minione:~ way$
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
  7. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #7
    Holy weird hostnames, Batman, I just realized that a bizarre issue I've been seeing is the same as yours.

    My computer as well has a hostname that I can't seem to change (or, for that matter, figure out where it's coming from). Except in my case, the hostname is the same as a work laptop that, so far as I can remember, I've never had even plugged into my home computer, let alone ever set the hostname to the same value.

    This has got to be some sort of Tiger bug, as I've NEVER seen it happen on a dozen different 10.3 installs, where the hostname was always a spaces-and-punctuation-removed version of what's in the Sharing section of System Preferences.

    Figured out anything yet? /etc/hosts doesn't say a thing about it, and /etc/hostconfig doesn't even have the "AUTOMATIC" paramater, let alone anything hardwired, as in the link above.

    Where the heck is this value coming from?
     

Share This Page