Changing My airport network name

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dizzled, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #1
    Hi everyone,
    I have an airport network at home and I want to change the name it displays but I can't figure out how to do it. I am running Tiger. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

    Pat
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #2
    You can change it in airport utility.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #3
    Applications -> Utilities -> Airport Admin Utility

    Or spotlight Airport Admin Utility
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa (ON) Canada
    #4
    Sorry, you'll have to dumb it down even more. The only options I can see are re-configuring my airport network set-up. Is that what I should be doing?

    Otherwise, if I select the settings drop-down menu, all the options are gray (i.e. non-selectable), as they are for most of the other drop-down menu options.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #5
    Go to the Airport Admin Utility and click on Manual Setup in the bottom

    Then select the Wireless tab and simply rename your Wireless Network

    Click Update and you are done :)
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #6
    Same prob

    Howdee I am trying to do the exact same thing: change the name of my wireless network

    When I open Airpot Admin Utility I get a window that seems to be blank, only 'Other' and 'Rescan' are clickable. And no network appears below those......

    Hmmmm, I am using a non Apple wireless router, and I cannot seem to rename my network.

    Any help is incredibly appreciated!

    Justin
    Brooklyn, NY
     

Share This Page