Cheap X.4 Box For iPhoto Server

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by syclone, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. syclone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #1
    Hi All - First Time I have really posted anything not in response to a rumor... my situation is as follows:

    I take a good deal of pictures with my 5MP digital camera and store/organize them with iPhoto. For a long time, I've been wanting to share them over the web, but I really don't have the time to upload them to something like webshots every time I shoot. Recently, I've been introduced to the myPhot and iPhotoWebShare programs which share your library via php scripts using Personal Web Sharing. So far its been pretty handy, but my only Apple machine is a Powerbook that is constantly leaving the house, so sometimes the site is there and sometimes it isn't.

    To solve this problem, I've been thinking of picking up an old box, shoving a big HD in it, moving my iPhoto library over to it and using it only to serve photos. I really don't want to spend more than $200 or so on the Box itself. I've been looking at B&W G3's and even some CRT iMacs. My question is, will these machines function well for this purpose with Tiger installed if this is all it ever does, or will it simply be too slow?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Do you have a static IP address? Otherwise it will be difficult to give an address to people to find your server..

    Before you go ahead, check with your ISP if running a server violates your terms of service.
     
  3. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #3
    You can get free static IP addresses through services like DynDNS.org.

    If all you're using it for is as a web server (including serving up photos), and you don't anticipate huge amounts of traffic coming your way, something like a B&W will be fine. Make sure your internet connection (the upload speed, specifically) is decent.
     
  4. cazlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    An remember that if you go the CRT iMac route, it may be best to go for a later (i.e. not a tray-loading) model, as Tiger's requirements state that Firewire is needed. I'm not sure if it still loads on the one's without Firewire, but better safe than sorry.
     
  5. syclone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #5
    Thanks for the help, guys.

    I do have a static IP right now, but I'm thinking about registering a name and doing a redirect that I can change if I move and get a new IP.

    I'm pretty sure that running a server does violate the TOS of my ISP, because they want you to pay more for a business class account. Similar to my Airport Express being a TOS violation, because they want to charge $5 extra per month for each PC on the connection. I figure unless there is a huge amount of incoming traffic, and since its not for commercial purposes, I will be fine. Hopefully they would at least ask me to shut down the server before cutting off my service.
     

Share This Page