Check out this glitch I just had in Chess

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by walkingmac, Mar 13, 2004.

  1. walkingmac macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #1
    OK... so I got a little board and decided to play a little chess. So I loaded the app that came with the OS (10.3) and all the sudden the game started CHEATING!

    (hope u can get what I mean from the image)

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

    titaniumducky

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    #2
    How...Why...What....AGGGGGHHHH :confused:
    I'm so confused! Why would a bug like that make it into the game? How?...
     
  3. cc bcc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #3
    As far as I know, it's a rare situation, but it is allowed. I forgot the name of the rule..
     
  4. JediL1 macrumors member

    JediL1

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    #4
  5. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Actually I'd forgetton about that rule but, yes, it is true. So the game is good because it takes into account all the rules! Pitty the Chess game on Mac OS X doesn't appear to have any instructions (i.e. knowledge of chess is assumed).
     
  6. walkingmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    walkingmac

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    #6
    wow.... as long as I have played chess I have never heard of that one (like u all have said RARE) wow.... well, I am not as frustrated now. :D
     
  7. paulypants macrumors 6502a

    paulypants

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #7
    thats CRAZY!! Never ever heard of that before!! Last place I thought I'd find out secret chess moves lol
     
  8. mvc macrumors 6502a

    mvc

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Outer-Roa
    #8
    Foiled again…

    Damn. I thought that was just a fake rule my big brother made up to beat me when I was 11. :eek:
     
  9. KC9AIC macrumors 6502

    KC9AIC

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan or Longview, Texas
    #9
    I remember learning en passant in Chess Mates program. It's used a lot less than castling.
     
  10. shake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    #10
    yes, that is a legal move. as someone mentioned earlier, it is called capturing "en passent", or "in passing". technically, the white pawn was at D2 (i think). moving that white pawn to D4, means the pawn has to go through D3 first, which makes it vulnerable to attack from the black pawn at E4. the black player can only capture the white pawn "en passent" on the very next move... (E4 x D3) after that it is not allowed. this is a standard chess rule, and not that rare or obscure at all.
     
  11. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    montreal
    #11
    yeah man, obviously the rest of you guys weren't in chess club.

    *pushes up imaginary glasses on nose like conan obrian
     
  12. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  13. raynegus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #13
    yeah my brother used to use that move on me and I fell for it every time. Of course I was 8 years old at the time and he was 18.
     
  14. Squire macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I've argues till I was blue in the face that taking "en passant" was legal and nobody ever believed me. Here's a site that explains the move. It's quite simple, actually. However, what I didn't know was this: ...you can't wait for another turn to capture a pawn en passant -- you either do it right after the enemy pawn has moved, or you can't do it at all.

    Interesting.

    I got that info from this site:

    http://chessaspirants.com/how_to_play_chess/enpassantmove.htm

    Squire
     
  15. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #15
    Yep, definitely a legal move. Several times I've jumped a pawn two spaces forward (not thinking about it) and my opponent did that to me. It's an extremely annoying move because it looks rather strange and is easy to overlook.
     
  16. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #16
    I've heard about that move before. My brother goes to "Chess for Kids". He is a Pawn Master. :cool:
     
  17. adamjay macrumors 6502a

    adamjay

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    Classic move!!!
    and generally the only way to break the Sicilian Defense.
     
  18. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #18
    This is a legal move, though very few people know about this. I like it even better than castling.
     

Share This Page