Chicken VNC problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cool11, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    I am new to mac world.
    I want to use chicken vnc to control a pc.
    The pc already runs vnc server(windows software of course).
    I use pc vnc viewer from other pc to see the specific pc running vnc server and there are no problems.

    But there are problems in mac vnc. I cannot connect at all.

    One of the messages:
    - rfbconnection. connection terminated. authentication failed-server reports: too many security failures.

    I use computers so many years but I cannot understand where the problem is. I test it with and without authentication but I had no luck at all. Networking with pc works fine(i can see its hard disk).

    Pc run vnc server edition 4.1.19(from realvnc).

    Please help me to connect to the pc, I really need it.
     
  2. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #2
    Blocked Firewall Port on the Mac? ...are you sure you are connecting to the right VNC port? 5900 or 5901
     
  3. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    It has died on me too for some reason. I get "cannot connect" issues. It's like the password is being messed up on the way over to compare....
     
  4. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #4
    Where can I check if this port is firewall blocked?
     
  5. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #5
    as a test disable the firewall

    system prefrences > sharing > firewall > stop

    remember to re-enable after testing!
     
  6. franchise macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    #6
    chicken problems all of a sudden too

    Had everything running like a charm...then 2 things happened...updated to 10.4.8 from 10.4.7 and also enabled gaming ports to play age of empires III video game.

    Etiher way...mcafee antivirus software on pc rigs that i was tapping into are throwing up errors on my connection and the connection gets terminated. I can initially log in..then it stops. I can still see the shot of the screen but its a dead connection. Very odd. Wondering if Chicken software somehow got corrupted when i upgraded the os or what???? I don't know. Very frustrating though.

    Any thoughts would be very much appreciated.
     
  7. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #7
    If you are trying to control a PC from a Mac, I'd suggest downloading the Remote Desktop program from Microsoft. It might be easier than using VNC.
     

Share This Page