Choose Intel Mac boot drive via remote control

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, May 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    That. Is. Awesome.

    This is why I love Apple: they think of everything.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #3
    How...."handy" :rolleyes:

    I can actually think of no use...

    Uber
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    That is soooo cool. :D

    Right out of the box, right? No mods, no hacks, no third party apps. Just click the button. Very, very nice. :)

    Ahem, why you'd be rebooting from ten feet away is another issue, but... :eek: :eek:
     
  5. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    You could of set your mac to auto start when you get in and have left the remote near the door as you walk in to get stuff rolling quicker. :cool:
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    appleguy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #6
    The next revision of the remote will have an boot button on it:D
     
  7. macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    love it :)
     
  8. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Hey it works... :) That's actually quite handy...
     
  9. macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #9
    neat! useless for me but still cool
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    it's handy if your laying down and have a dvd in the drive or want to setup music while.... *you know* and getting up is not an option ;) I wish the remote would power the unit up and restart it. <- handy options. Also, need to work 20+ feet away and threw walls like some cable remotes do.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Oh, I'm not disputing the use of the remote in general... but why are you rebooting in Windows while you're doing THAT? :eek: :eek:
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Rebooting in mac.. It was only an idea, it can come handy for some of us.. I'm sure not the idea I gave but there could be plenty of reasons :)
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #13
    Same as eject buttons on remotes, never seen the need. You have to get up to take the CD out right? Most drives also fly back in after a short time, so eject is useless.

    You get up, switch your Mac on and ignore the keyboard in front of you and pick up the remote. You boot up in Windows and realise you need the keyboard and so switch back. You boot up in OS X to use front row and realise that's set as default and there was no need to use the remote for choosing your boot, just for Front Row. Pointless as far as I'm concerned.
     

Share This Page