Choose OS on startup?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by gormond, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #1
    Hey

    I know that if I want to boot into windows I can hold down the command key but for some reason with the wireless keyboard it doesn't always work. Is there any way you can make the OS select screen always appear?

    Cheers,

    Gormond
     
  2. Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    System Preferences -> Startup disk -> Network Startup :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #3
    Ohh thanks, i thought network startup was for something else.
     
  4. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    BTW, it's the option key to choose the drive/OS. Make sure that's not the issue. ;)

    jW
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    if you restart your mac as it's booting back in hold the menu button on the apple remote and it gives you the option of mac or windows, left or right and hit the play button!!!!!!!
     
  6. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    refit
     
  7. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    That will force it to look for a NetBoot server...

    IIRC, if it can't find one, it will annoyingly wait for about 30 secs before booting off the first available bootable volume.
     
  8. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    Or a lot longer, there have been serveral threads by some who think it is a virus and have reported it taking a couple of minutes before actually booting.
     

Share This Page