Cinema Display and PS3?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by whw5, Jan 9, 2006.

  1. whw5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    Hey Guys, I want to get the PS3 when it comes out, but I have a little

    problem. My dad won't let me hook it up to our existing HD T.V so I will have

    to plug it into my 20in Aluminum Display. Is there anyway to actually do this

    or am I just out of luck? I know the 20in display isn't HD but will it still look

    great? Also, does anyone know if you will be able to play with a keyboard

    and mouse? I find that to be much easier that using the controllers. Any help

    is great, and sorry for so many questions.


    Will
     
  2. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    Well the PS3 will have two HDMI ports so you can connect your DVI plug into the back of it and view video but you won't get any sound. Because you can't do sound over DVI...

    Your twenty inch display will be able to play up to 720p which is HD, 1280x720 is still going to look amazing.

    And no you can't use your mouse and keyboard.
     
  3. whw5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    Is there any way I will be able to get sound? Can I just hook my speakers into the PS3 via a headphone jack?
     
  4. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #4
    Well, we don't know yet exactly what audio outs the PS3 will have, but I imagine it won't be difficult to hook up powered speakers to the PS3.
     
  5. DISCOMUNICATION macrumors 6502a

    DISCOMUNICATION

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    #5
    This Again?

    Here are some threads on the same topic:

    PS3 and Cinema Display
    Next gen consoles (360-Ps3) to cinema display 23" ?
    Is it possible to run an Xbox 360 through an Apple 23 inch HD display?
    Can the Cinema HD run this somehow?


    They all come to the same conclusion. We are about 99% certain this won't work directly form the HDMI port because of HDCP. Of course you could always use this, but $300, really? It does beat the old $2000 pro solution.

    Audio isn't that big of a deal. Most people don't use the audio channel in the HDMI cable anyways, because they want to use their home theater systems instead of their tv's speakers.
     
  6. howesey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #6
    The PS3's I have seen can be used with either USB or Bluetooth keyboards.
    :cool:
     

Share This Page