cinema display dark line

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by product26, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #1
    Anybody ever see this happen on an aluminum cinema display? I just started noticing it the other day.
    It is sort of a dark line that starts in mid way and doesn't quite make it to the edges of the screen.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Maxiseller macrumors 6502a

    Maxiseller

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Little grey, chilly island.
    #2
    Erm...from your pictures it looks like the normal black frame/border around the silver frame.

    Is it the entire way around, because thats normal.

    Unless of course, I'm missing what you've photographed?
     
  3. crazycaddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #3
    Maybe this helps:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. erickkoch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    Kalifornia
    #4
    I see it. Maybe a plain white background would make it more visible? I'd take it back, something is wrong with it.

    I've been looking to by an ACD but have heard of all sorts of problems with background bleed, pink hue's, etc. Getting a good one is hit-and-miss.
     
  5. product26 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #5
    thanks!

    I have had the display for quite some time now. This is the first issue i have had with it, the colors, lighting and pixels are perfect... except for this.
     
  6. Maxiseller macrumors 6502a

    Maxiseller

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Little grey, chilly island.
    #6
    Wow, sorry I didn't even notice that on my Macbooks display but I see it now on my ACD.

    If it's out of warranty it looks as though you may have to put up with it, as a repair would likely be the same price as a new display.

    Sorry mate
     
  7. product26 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #7
    well here is something strange... the line is only there after the monitor is warmed up and has been running for a while.

    I just turned it on after a couple hours of down time, and no line.

    but it will be back, it seems to come and go.
     
  8. product26 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #8
    another update:

    the line is much less noticeable now....

    it's not like i have gotten accustomed to it, It is just much more faint.

    The only thing i did different was changing the action of the power button from "turns the display off" to "puts the computer to sleep"

    the top part of the power button lines up almost exactly with the location of the line on the screen...

    i wonder if that is just a coincidence...?
     

Share This Page