Cinema displays and UK TV

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mr. DG, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. Mr. DG macrumors regular

    Mr. DG

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi, thinking of buying an apple cinema display, does anyone know if i can plug my freeview box (scart lead) into the cinema display via an adapter? I cant afford a HDTV and an lcd display, this seems like a good way of getting both. If this isnt possible, what about buying a hdtv set and using that as a monitor? Possible? Practical?

    I'll be using the MBP / DVI.
     
  2. fuji macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    #2
    You seem to be asking to different things. To get UK Freeview Digital on your mac you have to use a seperate bit of kit by elgato.com. I would advise against using an HDTV as a monitor due to pixel issues, stick with monitors for that. The 23inch Cinema display is HD so this will sovle both your problems
     
  3. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #3
    Buy the big Dell 24", cheaper and loads of inputs.

    PC/Mac, TV, multiple consoles etc.

    Quality is the same and you get a 3 year warranty.

    Dosn't look as good though, but better than most other monitors out there.
     
  4. Mr. DG thread starter macrumors regular

    Mr. DG

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #4
    Ah, i hadnt noticed the 20" wasnt HD. The apple 23" and dell 24" are waaay out of my price range (£950 for a monitor, no thanks!).

    as for freeview, i was thinking of a scart > dvi adapter (do they exist?) rather than using elgato gadgets, essentially using the monitor as a dumb viewing panel, the same as a tv getting signals thru a sky or freeview box. But if the 20" isnt HD, i doubt id get good results.

    what im essentially after is something that can be used as both monitor & tv set, but i dont want to lose any quality. think im onto aloser unless i spend £1000 or so...
     
  5. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #5
    Is HD that important to you for TV anyway? Unless you're going to invest £300+ monthly subscription for SKY HD you're not getting HD to the monitor anyway.

    If you're on a budget I'd get the best PC screen you can and pick up a cheap CRT TV, I haven't seen a cheap LCD panel I could watch TV on yet.
     
  6. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #6
    Exactly. Freeview is not HD and won't be until the big digital switchover from 2008-2012 (unless you're one of the lucky few to get onto the trials this summer). If you want HD you need to subscribe to Sky, or possibly Telewest.
     
  7. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #7
    Dell have theres on offer at times (Not at the moment though) for £710

    I bought mine for £690.
     
  8. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #8
    It's the SKY-way or the highway for me. When the anolouge signal is cut in a couple of years we in Jersey are going to be left with no options as the BBC/ITV channels will only be available by Freeview which we won't be getting & Telewest doesn't serve the island.

    Unless you want French channels with poor reception you're going to have to get satalite. DAB isn't even going to be available:(

    Maybe just maybe TV will start being available over broadband but as ours tops out at 2MB I think it'll be a while before that's an option too.
     
  9. Mr. DG thread starter macrumors regular

    Mr. DG

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #9
    thanks for the replies, guys.

    Was hoping there'd be some really elegant solution allowing only 1 screen functioning as both high resolution monitor and good tv set (without buying a tv card for the mac - without even turning the mac on). Im not desperate for HD, just would be nice to have it ready - I've seen SDTV on LCDs and it looks terrible.

    looks like separate screens is the way to go, or a tv card for the computer.
     

Share This Page