circle where 3g symbol is

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by white4s, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    ive noticed the 3g symbol turns into a circle sometimes, is this the roaming symbol?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    It means there is no 3G service.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #3
    It means you don't have 3G or even EDGE connectivity, and the radio is falling back to the older, slower GPRS technology.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    No, that's the older, pre-EDGE network known as GPRS. It means you have a data connection but it won't be able to do much more than download an e-mail or two.
     
  5. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    alright thanks
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    What does it mean on the CDMA (Sprint/Verizon) iPhone? I'm assuming it means 1xRTT.
     
  8. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #8
    Yep. I believe so.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    Yes, the circle in CDMA carriers means you're on 1xRTT.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Suffolk, Virginia
    #10
    Instead of the circle, it really should be an emoji icon of someone flipping you the bird, because edge and gprs speeds are not even worth attempting.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #11
    Edge isn't that bad. I used my 2007 model iPhone for almost 3 years. The WiFi didn't work for the last year as well. I used it all the data all the time. I got by fine.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Suffolk, Virginia
    #12
    I used to live in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia near the Luray Caverns... no 3G, just Edge. I couldn't even get a weather forecast or a single email over Edge.
     
  13. macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #13
    And you've somehow made the assumption that all EDGE, everywhere, is the same as it is at Luray Caverns?
     
  14. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #14
    He made a humerous post, I don't think he expected to be cross examined over it :p
     

Share This Page