Civilisation IV on the MBA 11" Ultimate?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sveno, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    Now, that Civilisation IV has arrived in the Mac App Store, I'm just wondering if it runs on the MBA 11" Ultimate. Any experiences?

    Greetings,
    Sven
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Considering it's a 5-year old game it should run fine. As with any Civilization game, once your civ gets really big it's going to lag on any machine.
     
  3. macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #3
    Advice : buy from Steam, it's cheaper. Wait for sales, I got the complete collection (base game + 2 expansions + Colonization for both Windows/Mac, installable on more than 5 computers) for 6.24$ USD over the holidays. Sure beats the 29.99$ price for just Colonization on the Mac App Store.

    It runs like a charm on my 13", even at 2048x1156 (my external monitor's native res).
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #4
    I can run both Civ IV and Civ V on the MBA 1.4Ghz/4GB. Haven't tried them on the OSX partition, but in Windows 7, they both work fine.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #5
    Question for you. How long did you play Civ 5. Lower-end computers can handle it but as soon as you hit 100 turns the CPU lag gets worse and worse.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #6
    What about call of duty 4? Would the 13" actually run that game and run multiplayer? its also on the app store.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #7
    I'm gonna be posting some videos tomorrow. You can see for yourself.

     

Share This Page