Classic 9 startup problem . . help please!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dumb blonde, May 11, 2004.

  1. dumb blonde macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I need help!
    Yesterday I upgraded from Mac Os 10.2 to 10.2.8 since that, everytime I go to start up Classic (9.2.2), it comes up with . . . . "classic needs to update resources in your selected Classic system folder. These changes are needed to run classic . . ." it then gives you the option to update, which I click and then a new box appears with "Resource Update Error . . .an error was encountered while attempting to update your system folder with classic -specific resources. . . ." and the only option they give you then is QUIT . . . thanks!!!!

    Please if any one can help it would be really appreciated.

    DB :eek:
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Did you try running all of these: fsck, Disk First Aid, and Repair Permission?

    Could be and improper permission setting or a file system error.
     
  3. dumb blonde thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #3
    Classic 9 start up probs

    Dear Sun Baked,

    Cheers for the quick reply, I am trying the repair disk permissions at the moment, I will let you know what happens.

    Thanks again
    DB
     
  4. dumb blonde thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #4


    No still doing the same thing but I could not find fsck

    DB :rolleyes:
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106388

    They'll be some directions on screen when you boot into single user mode (command-s).

    Keep running fsck until you come up with a clean pass.

    ---

    If that doesn't work, you can alway drag the Classic Support out of the OS 9 System Folder -- There should be a few of them, Classic - Classic Support - Classic Support UI -- just drag them to the Desktop and try restarting Classic.

    Hopefully there isn't a slash or a colon character in any drive or Folder Path name on the way to Classic.
     

Share This Page