classic environment?!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by InfoKill, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. InfoKill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #1
    Ok so i have me PM G5 and want to install photoshop 7 on it, ut when i try it says i need a "classic environment" to install it. So after fining out what a classic environment is i ask this, do i seriously hae to buy an older version of osx to install on my mac since i bought it and it came with tiger? please tell me no cause it would be really stupid if i had to spend money on the program and a older version of osx. :mad:
    help please :(
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    This question has been answered about 5 million times on this forum. Classic is MacOS 9. It is included on the System Restore disk that shipped with your computer.
     
  3. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #3
    Ahhhh. sorry about that and thanks for the help :eek:

    But now i have another question/problem.
    Now that i have os9 installed when i try to start it up it doesnt load up.
    the bar stays right at the beggining and os9 doesnt start up.
    am i doing anything wrong?
     
  4. fayans macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #4
    PS7 can only be installed in OS9 :confused: ??

    I had it in Panther but rarely use it though.
     
  5. thomasp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I installed Photoshop 7 on Tiger a couple of weeks ago, and I don't have classic installed.

    I was using the upgrade version, and put in my legitimate serial number from Photoshop 5 running on my old iMac in OS9. Things might be different for the full version install though.
     
  6. ShiggyMiyamoto macrumors 6502a

    ShiggyMiyamoto

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Just outside Boston, MA.
    #6
    What the.. PS 7 runs fine under OS X from OS X 10.2.x on without the need for Classic/Native Mac OS 9. If it's set to open in the Classic Environment, then simply do this:

    1. Locate the Photoshop 7 app (should be in your hard drive > Applications > Adobe Photoshop 7

    2. Click on it, and then go File > Get information > General

    3. Look around in that window for something that says "Run in Classic". Deactivate that and it should run OS X native.

    Good luck!

    -Shiggy
     
  7. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #7
    Thanks.

    But it wont go as far as installing the program at all. and yes it IS LEGIT.
    When i pop in the cd and click on install at first it told me something like "classic environment needed blah blah"
    Now that i have classic in when i click on the install button classic pop's up but the progress bar for it to load up doesnt move at all.
    Its photoshop 7 so i dont know whats wrong. This is a copy that we used at work that i bought home to work off from, and it installed there just fine. on a G4 though.
    Help :(
     
  8. besler3035 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #8
    There might be two separate installations...one for classic users, and one for Carbon (Mac OS X) users. I know this is the case with some older games and programs, and Photoshop 7 has been out for quite a while...
     
  9. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #9
    hmmm...
    Even if thats the case, classic still wont start up when i try to open it.
     
  10. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #10
    OK listen carefully. If Classic launches when you try to install, something is going wrong. Do not continue. The proper installer for OS X will not run in Classic. Your primary problem is getting 7 to install in X, not getting Classic running-- don't worry about that. When you open the CD, what icons are in the window? Names?
     
  11. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #11
    Ok.
    When i open the cd there is a Photoshop 7 installer, PS7 read me file, a users gudie in pdf format, then a folder containing another PS7 installer and read me file.
    When i click on both installers classic atempts to start up.
     
  12. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
  13. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #13
    I've installed PS 7 on OS X & and it never requested Classic.
     
  14. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #14
    Are you sure it's PS 7?

    Also, if the licensed copy is installed on a work machine, you may be violating Adobe's licensing agreement.
     
  15. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #15
    we're confused cuz it should work.....so give us some more info to go on.

    first off.....as was asked above...are you SURE it's photoshop 7 and not something earlier?

    what system is the G4 at working running?

    is this disk you're trying to use the original direct from adobe? or is it a copy you burned to take home? you're double extra sure this is the same disk that was used to install the software on the G4?

    is this install disk a standard retail full version? a retail upgrade version? a site license version?

    do you have an older version of photoshop already installed on your computer?
     
  16. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #16

    hmmm....are there other folders beside what you've listed? I just checked my old PS7 install disk and it has a bunch of other folders besides those you've listed.
     
  17. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #17
    Adobe acrobat reader 5.0.5
    '' solutions network
    '' technical info
    '' photoshop 7.0.1
    goodies
    install adobe photoshop
    install read me
    quick reference guide
    read me first
    third party products.pdf
    user guide.pdf

    Thats everything on the CD. and when i start up the install icon, my mac attempts to start classic O.S 9.2 in a little window and just doesnt do anything. I read the read me file and it said i need a classic envi' and thats what i put. but from what it sounds like classic isnt supposed to try and start up. :confused:
     
  18. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #18
    Funny on my Adobe(R) Photoshop(R) 7.0 CD, the Install Read Me file from April 2002 specifically says:

     
  19. InfoKill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo/NYC
    #19
    yup read that. did eerything it said and still zip, nada, nothing.
     
  20. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #20
    Infokill:
    That's probably it. Drag that file from the DVD to /Applications. There probably ISN'T an "installer" for OS X. Just the app itself.
     
  21. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #21
    There is an installer. And it does do a bit of work. This isn't one of those dragable applications.
     
  22. ahunter3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    #22
    That does vaguely ring a bell. OTOH, the installer, however much it may exist, doesn't seem to be vital. I was able to run Photoshop 7 when booted in Panther after having only installed it once, when booted in Jaguar from a different partition. I think it threw an error message on launch saying "please reinstall" but it launched nonetheless and did everything I asked it to.

    I got upgraded to CS long enough ago that I've forgotten most of the details of installing 7.
     

Share This Page