Classic with Tiger help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jotamurray, May 15, 2005.

  1. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #1
    After installing Tiger I have noticed that if I press the rainbow apple (classic) I only get a 4 option menu:
    1. the program about option
    2. the program help option
    3. recent applications
    4. recent servers

    How can I get the long menu back(i.e to get the selector option and change printer)

    Everything else seems to go ok... except my usb dsl modem which hasn't got a driver yet but will do in the near future.
    thanx in advance

    El jota
     
  2. tamara6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    This will probably not help you, but I've installed Tiger and my classic is working just fine. I see "apple menu items" under the classic icon in the os x toolbar, and the chooser is still there. All the items in this "apple menu items" are also shown in the real apple menu (under the rainbow colored apple) when I am in a classic application.

    When I launched classic the first time under Tiger, it had to be updated somehow. If this didn't happen for you, that might be your problem. Maybe you need to search for a classic updater over on Apple.com.
     
  3. Kerry Sanders macrumors regular

    Kerry Sanders

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Hayden, AL
    #3
    Sorry for the newbie question, but how does one run Classic from Tiger? I have been wondering that. I just recently got my first Mac (dual 2.0 PM).
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    I don't think it was factory-installed (I might be wrong, though). To check, go to System Preferences. Do you see a "9" icon? If not, then you'll have to install it yourself. The OS 9 (classic) disc should be included with your PowerMac. Check the included discss, one should be labeled classic or Mac OS 9 or something like that. Install it from that disc.
     
  5. Kerry Sanders macrumors regular

    Kerry Sanders

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Hayden, AL
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. I do not see a 9. I don't guess I really need it. I was just curious. :)
     
  6. jotamurray thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #6
    I'll try update it. I can go to the chooser from osx - but it's easier clicking on the rainbow apple
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Clarify

    You have to install it separately, but to be honest, unless you are an old 9 user, you have absolutely no reason to use it. Classic is simply a way to appease the few who refuse to update their software to run with modern operating systems. It hasn't really changed in about five years now.
     

Share This Page