Clean install Lion. ( :S )

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by WillEH, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Having issues with doing a clean install of Lion. Followed all the guides, but it doesn't seem to be working out for me.

    I've burned Lion on to a disk.

    Guides tell me I should go to Disk Utility and erase my HD, well I can't, ERASE is greyed out so I can't click on it.


    So not sure what to do, what I'm wanting to do is totally erase my HD, and do a clean install of Lion from the disk.. Any help? :)

    Help?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Yeah, you have to boot into the Lion DVD or USB drive you created. Once booted into that....you will see a menu allowing you to run Disk Utility. From there you can wipe your original drive. (You do have backups correct ;))

    -Kevin
     
  3. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Hi Kevin,

    Thanks, do I boot from Mac HD, Recovery, or the "Mac OSX" disk which lists.

    Yes I have it all backed up to TM :)
     
  4. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #4
    The one that you named your Lion install disk, so not Recovery or Mac HD.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Mac HD and Recovery should be your internal disk.

    I'm assuming Mac OS X is the DVD or USB stick you created? If so....boot to that. You should get to a screen that looks like below.

    -Kevin
     

    Attached Files:

  6. WillEH, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011

    WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Okay, I'll try it. Thanks :)


    How long should it take to load?
     
  7. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Might of messed up a little. I erased the HD and thevother HD? Was that ok. One at the top of the list, then the one below..
     
  8. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    What "other" HD?

    What do you see listed now?

    If you erased Mac HD....I think it auto erases the Recovery HD.

    If you are just seeing a blank partition now, rename it to what you want and install Lion on it.


    -Kevin
     
  9. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Hi Kevin,

    It's all going well now, installing fresh :)
     
  10. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    Good to hear.

    After you get up and running...in terminal you can type diskutil list to make sure the Recovery partition was created on the fresh install.

    -Kevin
     
  11. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    If not? I guess I use migration to get everything from TM back?

    Thanks :)
     
  12. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #12
    The recovery partition just contains those utilities.....so you just want to make sure it's created.

    As for restoring....during the initial setup once installed it will ask about migrating and you should be able to select TM.

    -Kevin
     
  13. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    I did that command:


    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *750.2 GB disk0
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_HFS Untitled 749.3 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
    /dev/disk6
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: Apple_partition_scheme *998.1 GB disk6
    1: Apple_partition_map 32.3 KB disk6s1
    2: Apple_HFSX Time Machine Backups 998.1 GB disk6s2
    WillEHs-MacBook-Pro:~ Will$




    Is that okay?
     
  14. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #14

    Yup....that's your boot drive (still called Untitled huh :p)

    And you can see the Recovery partition was created.

    So in the future, if you needed to run disk utility etc and didn't have your Lion USB drive you created, you can boot into the Recovery HD (by holding Option at startup) and get access to those tools and the ability to redownload Lion to reinstall.

    -Kevin
     
  15. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    Yeah, don't know how to change the name :p
     
  16. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #16
    Right click on the name in the Finder sidebar and select Rename.

    If you don't see that drive in the sidebar....open Finder prefs -> sidebar and make sure Hard Disks is checked.

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page