Resolved Clean RAM Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by leoheise, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. leoheise, Jul 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #1
    Hello... I'm new in the forum, and I had a doubt that maybe is very idiot. What sentence can I use to clean the RAM memory?? For example, I click in a button and the memory, then, cleans entirely.

    Sorry if I wrote something wrong, I'm brazilian. xD

    Thanks,
    Leo
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    #2
    In most cases, there is probably not much benefit to manually clearing/freeing the RAM (look up the word "placebo"). OS X is supposed to manage that. If you are running out of memory, install more RAM sticks instead and avoid using memory-leaking programs.

    But if that doesn't solve your problem, then install Xcode and then run the 'purge' command.
    http://osxdaily.com/2012/04/24/free-up-inactive-memory-in-mac-os-x-with-purge-command/

    Onyx also has a similar command.
    http://www.titanium.free.fr/
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #3
    Read this first:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1342
    Inactive:

    This information is in RAM but it is not actively being used, it was recently used.

    For example, if you've been using Mail and then quit it, the RAM that Mail was using is marked as Inactive memory. Inactive memory is available for use by another application, just like Free memory. However, if you open Mail before its Inactive memory is used by a different application, Mail will open quicker because its Inactive memory is converted to Active memory, instead of loading it from the slower drive.​


    As of at least 10.8 Mtn Lion, installing Xcode is unnecessary. The 'purge' command is present by default. At least it is on the 10.8 that came pre-installed on the MacBook Pro I bought in Nov 2012.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #4
    Just an FYI, the changes to the virtual memory subsystem of Mavericks is probably going to make anything you write moot, assuming it would work at all. This assumes you were going to do something like 'purge'.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Reboot :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #6
    thanks all... principally Tibbar and chown33.
    How can I close this thread?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #7
    Edit your first post (click on "Advanced" if it doesn't take you to the advanced editor by default), click on the title prefix drop down, and choose "Resolved". It doesn't close the thread, but it says no one else should come here offering help. If anyone has the same question and wants to continue this discussion, they can resurrect this thread.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    Ahh, the IT support answer, Turn it off and on again, that fixes all issues :D
     

Share This Page