Cleaning inside a powerbook, especially the fans.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by vsp, Feb 22, 2007.

1. vsp macrumors regular

Jan 23, 2004
    Chico, Ca
    Three years of pretty good behavior from my Al Powerbook. Just recently, however, the screen has fritzed out on me while I'm killing something in Warcraft. It's returned to it's normal behavior, but only after about 18 hours and quite a bit of futzing with/over it.

Likely the logic board needs to be replaced, but there's also a chance that the fans have accumulated years of dust and aren't running fast enough, causing the computer to overheat.

What's the best way of dealing with dust and build-up inside a laptop? Can I blow air underneath the keyboard? Applecare has recently expired...given that might it be worth it to take it apart and clean/oil the fans?

Appreciate any tips you all have.
  2. Blubbles macrumors newbie

Dec 25, 2008
    Hello. I'm still learning about computers, and have been having similar problems.

My screen lately has been getting blue wavy pixels in some spots (mostly darker colors) and a couple thin blue lines that go right through active windows. It's hard to watch videos and play games. Some text gets blurry also. It comes and goes, so I know it's not the screen. I can't find any solution, other than it's the logic board, or just dust! Anyways, it's getting real annoying, and I'm getting desperate.

I thought someone would know. so please, any suggestions are helpful on what it might be. And yes, any tips would be great on how to clean! I'm on a powerbook G4.

P.S. Warcraft is great.
  3. macrem macrumors 65816

Mar 11, 2008