Clear CD Information Stored in System??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thundercutter, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. thundercutter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #1
    Hi there,

    Whenever I put a CD in for the first time (usually an audio CD) it will recognise it the first time I put it in. I was wondering if there is any information stored on the system about any CD's I put in, and if so if there is a way of clearing this information.

    I had my system auto open iTunes whenever an audio CD was inserted, but now that it is turned off, the CD's I placed in before turning it off still have the info attatched..

    Does this make sense, if not I will try to re-word

    Thanks
     
  2. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    I understand what you mean, but why would you want to clear it? :confused:

    If you're trying to save space or something, that kind of information isn't going to clear up much room at all.
     
  3. thundercutter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for your reply..

    It's not to clear space, I am trying to use a Playstation emulator, which wouldn't work when I had audio CD's opening in iTunes. Now only disks that I didn't insert before will work. The others, the audio content now shows as a second CD. If I could clear the memory, then I could play these games..

    Just hope I can do it..:)
     
  4. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #4
  5. thundercutter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #5
    Hey Thanks for the info, thats what I wanted to know.. :)

    Turns out though that was not the issue, I had to use Terminal to unmount the audio CD so that my app could read the other cd with the games content. Bit of a pain, as It will not then eject without using disk utility.. Anyway, at least I got things sorted. Thanks for help :)
     
  6. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
  7. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #7
    Did you get the Playstation Emulator working incidentally? I wouldn't mind having a go at it myself, I have a load of old playstation games lying around which would be cool to play on my mac if possible.
     
  8. thundercutter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #8
    Yes I did, I have to terminal to eject the audio disk which is mounted then open the emulator and it works great..... only problem is i have to the eject the disk (which does nothing) and then use disk utility to physically eject the disk.

    Games work great though :)
     

Share This Page