Cloning my iMac to my PowerBook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Love, May 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #1
    I want to have some of my data that I have on my iMac on my PowerBook. It has Leopard and is slightly slow. The iMac has Tiger, so can I clone it using CCC or SuperDuper!? thanks for your answer. :)
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands, Arnhem
    #2
    Why cloning?

    If your powerbook is not a workhorse at the moment why not format the HD and do a clean install of Tiger and then at the last stage, when it offers to import user settings and data, connect the imac as a Firewire disk and let it "clone" your user account?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #3
    Do a fresh install tiger on the Powerbook, update it to the latest version and then use migration assistant to copy over the apps, settings and user account(s).
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #4
    Well, I've ruled out doing a fresh tiger install. The only disks I have are the ones from my Intel iMac.

    The problem with the fresh install is that I have an 80 GB HDD in the PowerBook with about 53 GB left, while my iTunes folder alone is 58 GB. I suppose I'll just use FW Disk mode to transfer my stuff.
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    You can save some space with the Leopard install by un-selecting some features like printers and languages. And you can trim even more by using Monolingual to get rid of the PowerPC support code and such.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #6
    But it's a PowerPC mac. Why would I want to delete the code for PPC?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    there are more than one type of powerpc
    [​IMG]
    removing all but the one for your powerbook will save space
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #8
    Ok then install Leopard on the PowerBook and use the Migration assistant. Obviously you will have to deselect itunes. Its just maths!
     

Share This Page