Cloning OS in Leopard to new HDD on PM G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Davy.Shalom, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #1
    How should I go about cloning my noisy Maxtor 500 GB 7200 RPM to a newer quieter Western Digital 500 GB 7200 RPM?

    All thoughts are quite welcome, thanks!!
     
  2. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #3
    I agree, in the past using Tiger on my PowerBook G4 CCC has been very reliable. However:

    Stupid question 1:
    Will my B drive in there be bootable after using CCC if I put it in the primary slot in the PM G5, or will it not. CCC gives me some warning about PPC Macs and apple partition map.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Alright, what you'll want to do is connect the hard drive that you're going to be cloning the data on to. Then go to Disk Utility and select the new hard drive, select "Partition". Set Volume Scheme to 1 Partition and then select "Options..." under the flyout menu select Apple Partition Map and select ok. Then click "Apply". That will allow your Mac to boot from the hard drive. And then after Disk Utility is done, go to CCC and clone the disk over to it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Davy.Shalom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #5
    Thanks so much!! I didn't even know Disk Utility had this feature...haha I guess we learn something new every day.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    No problem, glad to help :)
     

Share This Page