Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

capnbishop

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 17, 2008
I'm an experienced programmer learning Cocoa, and it's coming along well enough, but I know that I won't retain any of it unless I put it to work. I would like to have a few simple projects that I can work on to put Cocoa to use, but am having trouble coming up with many good ideas, or at least any that inspire me at all. I can surely come up with some interesting project ideas in general, but they're all more advanced than I'm ready to take on right now.

Simply, I'm asking for a range simple project ideas that would be good for someone new to Cocoa. Stuff like a tabbed RTF editor, a simple data organizer, a chat client, etc.

Please don't suggest that I find an open source project. I don't want to jump into someone else's code; at least not yet.

Thank you.

MrFusion

macrumors 6502a
Jun 8, 2005
West-Europe
I'm an experienced programmer learning Cocoa, and it's coming along well enough, but I know that I won't retain any of it unless I put it to work. I would like to have a few simple projects that I can work on to put Cocoa to use, but am having trouble coming up with many good ideas, or at least any that inspire me at all. I can surely come up with some interesting project ideas in general, but they're all more advanced than I'm ready to take on right now.

Simply, I'm asking for a range simple project ideas that would be good for someone new to Cocoa. Stuff like a tabbed RTF editor, a simple data organizer, a chat client, etc.

Please don't suggest that I find an open source project. I don't want to jump into someone else's code; at least not yet.

Thank you.

A stock program, not limited to apple shares?

derryquinn

macrumors 6502
Sep 29, 2007
OS X is seriously lacking a native Cocoa MSN client.