CoD 2 and BF 2 on iMac C2D 20"

Discussion in 'Games' started by JGamer, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. JGamer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #1
    How do Call od Duty 2 and Battlefield 2 run on an iMac Core 2 Duo 20" [256 VRAM, 2 GB ram, 2.16 Ghz] on full resolution [1680x1050] ?
     
  2. JGamer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #2
    Nobody who played one of those games on an intel core 2 duo?
     
  3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    Not many people have them. But if both those games run extremely well on MacBook Pros and iMac CDs (which they do) then they'll run well on an iMac C2D.
     
  4. JGamer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
  5. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #5
    Well the 20" CD iMac has the same resolution, so assuming they run well on that, I can't see how it would be any different for the C2D.
     
  6. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    Nope. He means using Boot Camp and XP.
     
  8. ddrueckhammer macrumors 65816

    ddrueckhammer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Location:
    America's Wang
    #8
    I have the stock 20" iMac (2.16 C2D, 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x512, ATI Radeon X1600/128MB VRAM) and just tested it in OS X. I used the setting in the pictures below (basically everything standard with the resolution set to 1680x1050) and got about 50FPS average with spikes well into the 60s...I would think that with extra Vram and SDRam you should be able to get that kind of performance or better with all of the settings maxed out...If you play it in Windows you will probably get even better...

    Sorry, I had to degrade the images a lot to be able to upload them but the information is correct anyway...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. \\Spitfire// macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #9
    My Imac is a dual 2.16, 2 gigs of ram and ati x1600 256. In cod2 with everything on high and 1600/1200 res, I average in the 120-200 fps range except when there is massive amounts of smoke, and player models.
     
  10. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #10
    You're not really getting 120-200 FPS because the refresh rate on LCDs restricts the graphics to at max 60FPS... Unless of course you got your iMac hooked up to an external CRT monitor cause that's a different story. My suggestion is to turn on Video Sync and see how many FPS you get then.
     

Share This Page