COD2 Graphic Settings

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AppleThis&That, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #1
    What are the best settings for COD2? Just got this game but not sure since there are many options.

    And what is the difference between trinagular, biangular, etc? May have got the spelling wrong but you know what I mean I think.

    Any advice would truly help. :D
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    windywoo

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #2
    Just turn up the details to max since its an old game. You want 4x antialiasing, anisotropic filtering, extra high textures, high model detail, and I think there is a rendering detail setting that should be high too.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #3
    Well, of course, we need to know your Mac first to tell you.
    Specs please?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #5
    Thanks man. I'll try these settings.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    Turn everything to the max and decrease one at a time if the game runs slow.

    Do not enable "High" render method (spelling) because its bugged on Mac version and will slow down your game to crawl. Skip Antialiasing too because your video card is not the best one.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #7
    Actually the 9400M does pretty well with everything high with antialiasing on. But will play some more to see which settings is best overall. Fun game for how old it is. Thanks guys for the help. :)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    Are you sure you are running at 1920x1200? High resolutions and AA really kill performance on low-end cards.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #9
    Actually, I have it at 1200 x some other number and it works fine but going up to 1920x1200 does lag a little. When AA is off, it's smooth. I prefer AA with lower res. Seems more appealing.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #10
    What did you mean by this? It seems to work fine when I have rendering set to high.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #11
    Wait guys, is someone able to play Cod2 on a Mac with nVidia graphics (8 and 9 series) without lag? That would be news, has Aspyr released a patch? (read this topic to understand what i mean: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=408093)

    Too bad the Mac version of Cod2 has less graphic options compared to the Windows version. Especially the lack of specular map (the "glow thing") is a real bummer if you ask me. Still it's a great game for me (running it maxed out on my Mac Pro with ATI 4870 at 1680x1050 :D )
     
  12. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #12
    It was probably fixed. When I was researching this issue some time ago it slowed down to 2-5 FPS even the fastest Macs.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    windywoo

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #13
    When I said max everything out I was posting from experiences with an E6750, Radeon 4870 and 4GB of RAM. The framerate was always 60+ so I just assumed that it would run well on lower hardware too. Seems you're happy anyway.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleThis&That

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #14
    Yeah, it works fine. I like it set high too. You can see the snow flakes and much more detail. Way better that way with no lag. The M9400 seems to work pretty well with this game.

    I did download the 1.3 patch. Maybe that helped.
     

Share This Page