Code signing woes

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by pinsrw, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    1) Why? Where in Apple's documentation does it say to do this?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #3
    Or indeed, where does it say to do *anything* in the post?

    To the OP: have you tried following the guides in the Developer Provisioning Portal?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #5
    What kind of program do you want to submit for approval?

    The Apple reference says that the sectcreate magic is for a single-file tool. Is that what you're trying to create?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #7
    This is for distributing an iOS application via iTunes Store and I've signed up as an iOS developer.

    What I've done so far after going into the provisioning portal is:
    1. Generated the iPhone development certificate. Installed that.
    2. Exported by private developer key (the .p12 file) and installed that.
    3. Generated the iPhone distribution certificate. Installed that.
    4. Asked Xcode to automatically use the iPhone distribution certificate.

    It still gives an error:
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #8
    I'm pretty sure this is telling you the application identifier is empty, since there's nothing between the quotes.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #10
    This is an error caused by the CFBundleIdentifier field of the plist.
    When I put the default, which is in the form com.company.AppName, in there, it still gives an error:

    It's unclear why the default value isn't being accepted.

    And it's unclear why, even though I've installed all of the certificates using Keychain Access, in Xcode my certificates still don't appear in Edit Project Settings.
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    The default value will only be accepted if you put the same value (or at least a partial) that matches that on the developer portal when you created your certificates. Of course you should be using the correct value, not the default. I would not be surprised if Apple rejected an app with a non-realistic identifier value.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #12
    In the App ID area of the website, Apple has accepted my App ID and provided me with the developer certificate and distribution certificate, both of which I installed using Keychain Access. Xcode is acting like it's not even checking for these. It tell it to build and it immediately stops with the same error.

    In Keychain Access I see 5 certificates:

    Apple Push Development
    Apple Push Distribution
    AWWDS
    iPhone Development
    iPhone Distribution

    ... And now I'm seeing something even more bizarre.
    When I try to run my program on the simulator it comes up with a black screen!
     
  13. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    Did you get a provisioning profile with an appropriate appID, and drop it on Xcode?

    I find quitting and restarting Xcode sometimes helps... or even rebooting my Mac.

    Code signing is one of Apple's secret IQ qualifying tests for iOS developers. There are around 100 steps hidden in the documentation. If you miss one step you fail, and aren't qualified to do apps. If you actually read all the documentation needed and get all the steps right, you win this level of the game, and get to play the next level: app approval lottery.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #14
    No, because that seems to require that I have a device, which I don't have. At this point it's an issue of trust and accountability: Is Apple accountable when bizarre problems crop up? Do I trust that if I buy an iPad the black screen issue, which is due to their code, will be resolved somehow?

    Rebooting the Mac and even updating the system software had no effect on the black screen issue.

    I agree, it is an IQ test, wherein the intelligent thing would be to not code for iOS in the first place. And it's also a reverse IQ test, in which Apple's being tested for its intelligence in dealing with the coders on which it relies, but is failing.

    Soon they'll be selling Kopi Luwak coffee beans as another "IQ test", where the "smartest" consumers will pay extra for fecal-covered beans.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Then why are you trying to build for release: the simulator performance is very different to the device. It is not unknown for code that runs in the simulator to fail on a real iPhone entirely.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #16
    It's a data-entry type of program, not OpenGL or anything that requires performance testing. It would run just as well on a 50 MHz device as on a 500 MHz device.

    That's a very vague statement. Can you cite an example situation?
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    ...in the UK
    #17
    Creating a distribution provisioning profile does not require any device ids.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #18
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    ...in the UK
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Development != Distribution.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    ...in the UK
    #21
    No, I wasn't.

    If you want to create a development provisioning profile, you need to specify which devices. If you want to create a distribution provisioning profile, which is what is needed in order to submit an app to the App Store and the very thing I believe you created this thread for, then you don't need to specify any devices, since by it's very intention, it is meant to run on unknown devices.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  23. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #23
    And he was correct. A distribution profile, which is what you need to upload to the store, is not linked to any device ID. You on the other hand are, in my opinion, behaving in a manor that does not make me want to help you. You have removed the content of your posts in this thread which is exceptionally rude when people have responded to it and are now being antagonistic. I'll certainly not be bothering to attempt to help you any more.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    ...in the UK
    #24
    Do you even understand the difference between a development provisioning profile and a distribution one?
     
  25. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #25
    They've already got over 48,000 active iOS devs with near 300K apps done. The numbers go up without any better "dealing". They don't need to rely on anyone who can't pass their bizarre imperfect test.

    Diligence, intelligence, careful information (re)reading/searching skills, and politeness, all help.

    Or you could try making money with Android/BB apps.
     

Share This Page