College Computer Requirements

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bballguy998, Mar 30, 2006.

1. bballguy998 macrumors newbie

Im a sophomore in HS, but i plan on college as soon as I graduate. Ive always wanted a mac. The problem is, I plan on going into the Engineering or Architecture field. A lot of the programs I'll be using such as (Autodesk Inventor, studio 3D max, Photoshop, Autodesk Agricultural Desktop) need, as far as I know, extensive graphic cards to run on.

With the whole windows on mac deal, would it be ok to buy a mac, considering that in 2 1/2 yrs, it may be easier to run those high graphic programs, or should I go down the windows road, and buy a $500 dollar windows machine that will gurantee the use of these programs?

2. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

If you buy a Mac with a great graphics card (such as the iMac or MBP) you should be able to run these programs no problem as long as there is a Mac version for it. I actually run Photoshop quite nicely on this 32MB ATI 9550 equipped iBook with 1.5GB of RAM. With a Mac, RAM is your best friend! :)

3. bballguy998 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, I guess I should add though that none of those programs, the ones by Autodesk anyway, have versions for Mac, all of the autodesk programs run on windows OS only :(

4. matperk macrumors 6502

I use Autocad Architectural Desktop 2005 running under XP on my MBP and it is amazing. It's incredibly fast and boots up more than twice as fast as the 3.0ghz HTP4's here at school.

5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

A graphics card doesn't affect Photoshop much more than it affects finder. Everything is done on the CPU. The video card only displays the images.

I have to agree, RAM is your friend. RAM affects Photoshop much more than the video card will.

6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85