College laptop: iBook or Powerbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by crazyhorse634, Aug 18, 2005.

1. crazyhorse634 macrumors newbie

Hi, everyone, I am new to all this Mac stuff, but have enjoyed the experiences that I have had with them so far. So, I need to find a laptop for college, but I don't know what to go for, the iBook or the Powerbook. I would like the 15" Powerbook, but I am not seeing much difference between that and the 14" iBook.

I will be writing papers, storing and editing pictures and keeping my music collection in order to use for our swing dances.

Any suggestions, Pro's/ Con's?

meg

2. lopresmb macrumors 6502

go with the iBook, its a better bang for the buck right now. FOr what it seems like you will be doing it should be just fine:

powerbook has a better video card that allows screen spanning, a higher resolution display, and would be a bit faster, but for what you need, I imagine the iBook would keep pace quite nicely.

3. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

DeSnousa

The iBook will suffice for your need it has plenty of power for those apps.

The downside for me would be resolution of screen and not being able to connect the iBook to an external in clamshell mode.

The pros, better reception and battery performance.

With any Apple purchase i would upgrade the ram to at least 1gb now days

Here's a great article for college students discussing what computer to get.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=141346

4. Josh macrumors 68000

Josh

I'd say go w/ the iBook.

I have a 14" iBook and absolutely LOVE it.

I just got it a couple months ago, so I haven't done school work on it yet, but I know it will be great to have for that.