Color Classic Problem :(

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by macEfan, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #1
    i aquired a color classic not too long ago(with a LC 575 logic board upgrade),but it has a bad problem...

    the screen is VERY dark.. The macine boots up fine and all, but the display is Hardly Readable! The brightness controls do nothing... please help... i dont want to have a dead CC for the rest of my life :)
     
  2. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #2
    Have You opened the case and checked the Yoke cable? Also on the back above the door for the logic board are the main CRT adjustments I cant remember but I think the brightness setting is on the side, I cannot stress enough the importance of being carefull as the CRT can kill You.
     
  3. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #3
    thanks for the reply.... Sorry for my lack of skills, but what is the yoke cable? And how can i be carful around the CRT? thanks!
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Oooo Kay. Your response indicates that you should not attempt to work on the CRT, but you should take it to a television repair shop where they know their way around a CRT and how not to get electrocuted. This is the last thing you should be attempting if you are not skilled with electronic repair.

    Basically, there are components in any 'tube' style display that hold 10's of thousands of Volts **even when the machine is off and unplugged **

    A TV shop has a special tool to safely drain that voltage away before working on it.
     
  5. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #5
    i know how to discharge a CRT:
    i would need

    -Insulated Screwdrive
    -Grounded outlet
    -thick insulated wire
    -electrical tape or wire clamp

    all i need to do is connect the wire from the screwdriver to the grounded outlet. Then, touch the screwdriver's tip to the underside of the suction cup on the CRT..
    i am not worred about discharging the CRT, i just have no clue what is wrong with my Color Classic.
     
  6. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #6
    If You take apart the Classic to the point You can see the CRT the controls Im speaking of are on the back away from the 3 parts of the CRT that hold the charge, just use common sense and dont touch anything close to the CRT.And nevermind the Yoke cable.
     
  7. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    From http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/crtfaq.htm#crtcsa

    I dont think you need discharge the tube, just be really careful around it.
     
  8. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #8
    Here, this isnt that complex.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #9
    thanks, that will help!
     

Share This Page