Colour problems...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MarkW19, Oct 24, 2004.

1. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

I just did a file in photoshop, and printed it out, and the colours it's printed out as are WAY out. They've been ok before...

My printer is a Canon i865, and the colour onscreen was a nice maroon, but it printed out almost as grey.

The colours in my printer seem to be working ok because I've tested them in Quark by doing a few coloured boxes etc.

It's not just photoshop - I exported the file as a TIFF and printed it out from Quark but I got the same problem.

Anyone any ideas?

2. russed macrumors 68000

russed

im no photoshop expert by a long way but what you have to do when you open a file is to make it so that the colours the file is using is the same as the display on your comp. first of all i think you have to go and calibrate the display under system preferences > display. then when you open the file in photoshop you go into file > and this is where i can not be any more help for the moment as i dont have my external hdd that has photoshop on it! it is something to do with colour. but basically you select the same colour scheme as your calibration! (if am talking rubbish let me know!)

oh by the way, where abouts in leeds are you? i know several people around rothwell/woodlesford and i come from skipton but am in york at the moment at uni.

3. Gee macrumors 65816

I went to uni in York - which college are you in?

4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

What mode is your image in?

RGB or CMYK or something else like Lab...

5. russed macrumors 68000

russed

im in alcuin college. well this year (my 2nd) i'm living out. im doing ppe

6. Gee macrumors 65816

I was in Vanbrugh, did Biology, way back when!

Apologies to the guy whose thread this is for getting off topic...

7. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

Hehe, I actually live in Harrogate but work in Leeds and spend a lot of my time there :)