Comcast Cable on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rball1979, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. rball1979
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #1
    Hey all

    I have the full comcast cable package coming throught the HD Settop box at the moment.

    My TV has recently died on me and is going to be repaired by Panasonic. I was thinking, in the meantime, is there a way to get my comcast signal onto my Mac so I dont have to buy another, temporary TV? Which sort of TV cards could accomodate this and am I going to run into any challenges?
     
  2. Peace
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. nanofrog
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    For an HD signal, this one will work (up to 1080i).
     
  4. pmcb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #4
    for a cheaper solution try the hava hd platinum, although the hd title is decieving, it only records up to 480p, it takes any hd input.

    edit: the software is windows only but hey theirs always bootcamp
     
  5. MisterMe
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    There are two sides to the equation--hardware (the tuner dongle) and the software (required to change channels, set schedules, etc.) Elgato produces both. However, its eyeTV software also supports tuner dongles from other manufacturers.
     
  6. waw74
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #6
    depending on your cable box, you might be able to get the signal on the firewire port. (comes out as a stream, and not like a file on a shared drive)
    I've used this before to record some things i wanted.

    also certain programs/channels may have DRM enabled, and you won't be able to watch those.

    check out http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20040426151111599

    There is a way to watch the stream live in VLC instead of recording, but i don't remember how, just look it up online.
     

Share This Page