Comcast Increases Broadband Speeds

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by ColoJohnBoy, Oct 5, 2003.

  1. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #1
    (Link) - http://news.com.com/2100-1034-5085725.html

    Came across this article on CNet - Looks like Comcast is raising the upper limit of their broadband download speeds, from 1.5 Mbps to 3 Mbps.

    I personally hope they also increase the upload speed. I only have 256 Kbps upload speed, which is a bitch for using iChat AV. They seriously need to increase it, to at least 512 Kbps - hopefully they'll do it to a full 1 Mbps.
     
  2. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #2
    i don't think they will increase upload too much ... people used to serve websites off their home cable connections when the bandwith wasn't capped so they had to cap them
     
  3. WannabeSQ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    #3
    I have Roadrunner cable, and they have recently been upping the speeds from 2 megabit to 3 megabit, all quietly. The upload has been decreased slightly, from 384 to about 300 ish. I only noticed
     
  4. ColoJohnBoy thread starter macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #4
    http://www.championbroadband.com/

    I found this company a while back - they offer 3 Mbps bi-directional speeds, and up to 10 Mbps - Unfortunately it's only in these two really small portions of the Denver Metro area, and I live just two miles due east of one. :(:(:(
     
  5. fraeone macrumors regular

    fraeone

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    It's nice that they're now making this official. The President of Comcast announced they were doing this about a month ago in a speech, and CNet did report on it, so I thought it was funny that they just duplicated their previous story.

    No matter, the sooner we they double our download, the better. (For the record, upstream is staying where it is at 256kbps)

    fraeone
     

Share This Page