Command prompt or cmd for iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by iParis, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #1
    Is there a way by jailbreaking or using the native appstore to get command prompt or cmd?
    OR even an app like it that will allow me to remote control and do certain things to computers without touching them.
    A couple of the things I'd be interested in, shutting down or pinging a computer with my iPod.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #2
    A command prompt or cmd is applicable to Microsoft Windows only. Apple operating systems are unix based so what you need is a shell. An ssh daemon or server is what you want and the most common used on iPhones and iPod touch devices is Mobile Terminal. You will have to crack your device to be able to install that application.

    Google for Pwnage Tool which is used to build a custom firmware package for you iPod or iPhone and has proven to be the most reliable.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    Ok, mind giving me a link (if you have one) and some information on it.
    Like, is a jailbroken app or from the app store?
    And what Windows OS is it based off of? 2000? XP? Vista?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #4
    So... jailbreak. Sounds like fun. If I install mobile terminal, will I be able to do stuff on a network to Windows computers like I would if I were running command prompt on a Windows OS?
     
  5. Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #5
    It is a lot of fun. There are a couple of RDP Remote Desktop applications that allow you to remote control a Windows pc from your iPod or iPhone. Once you start looking you'll find literally hundreds and hundreds of applications out there.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #6
    Yeah, I looked in to the Remote Desktop applications on the App Store. They're not what I'm looking for though. Sometimes my friends and I will get bored in PC Tech class so we will start using command prompt to shut each other's computers down. I want to be able to shut them down from my iPod. Using a remote desktop app wouldn't really work since my home computer isn't on my school's domain.
    I would also use the mobile terminal to check my connection speed and a few other things.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #7
    Easyest way....
    If ur iPod ia jailbroken den go to installous or woteva and
    downlaod da following

    jaadu rdp

    best remote desktop der is
    or Downlaod terminal from cydia
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #8
    dis ih how i tlk cuz i dun knuh how tu speak english corretly. dis ih da most funnest wahy tu tal wen u dun knuh how tu speak english corretly.

    nobody likes to see people type that way. its not cool, and it doesnt make you look cool.

    sounds like your a freaking baby.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #9
    This thread is almost a year old...
    HU DAT MAN POSTIN DAT STOOPID INFO?????
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #10
    Command Prompt on the ipod touch

    Yes you can get command prompt on the ipod touch but u need to jailbreak it.
    You need to download Cydia and Blackra1n search Blackra1n on google to get you started
     

Share This Page